Closeup of Hairline Damage

Closeup of hairline damage 
See the temple of my glasses? The third twist up from that is shows where my hair is broken off at and refuses to retain any length. My hairline was badly damaged from leaving micro-braids in too long and as you can see, my hair is two short to be pulled into the twists. It’s like that on both sides of my head. I think I have follicle damage, maybe a touch of traction alopecia and as a result, the hair that is growing is not strong enough to retain any length.

Comments
9 Responses to “Closeup of Hairline Damage”
  1. lupi says:

    hello,i started to perm my hair at the age of 15 on and off. my dad is black but my mom is puertorican,my hair still is fairly nappie, now i am 34 and i adecide to stop the perms, i haven’t perm my hair since apr 2006 and its driving my crazy, i do the cornrolls every other week,at this time is half perm aand half natural. how much longer. i know exacly what you went through.

  2. nakeshia mcnary says:

    hey i really like theses braids who ever did them they did a terrific job

  3. nappyme says:

    Hi Nakeshia,
    Welcome to NPP101,

    Thanks for the compliment. My hair is actually in flat twists…not braids…and I do them myself. Funny cause I wear my hair exactly like this the majority of the time and on occasion I wonder if people think my hair is braided.

    Also, I’ve never liked cornrows on ME, but turns out I love flat twists. They’re a wonderful alternative.

    Thanks again!

  4. Tay says:

    I’m embarassed to admit that I have braids in my hair and tend to leave the same braids in for about a year just occassionally rebraiding the surface braids because I leave in in a ponytail. From years of laziness with my hair, my hair is very course and damaged. Even when I wash and press my hair it wont hold a press and starts to draw back to it’s intense curly coarse state.

    My quesion is what can I do to get my old texture back without cutting my hair (which i’m not)? My hair feels like bob wire and is very dry. Oh and all grey now. If anyone has a solution to help me, please send me an email directly at: hardvorknmom@yahoo.com.

    Thank you in advance for your time and help.

  5. a nik0l3 says:

    i need help can some one please help so in oct i cut all or most my hair off an its growin bak slowly but surely now i want micros do micros help or worsen the hair growth situation and does the fact that i am bi racial(hispanic/african) effect any thing

  6. nappyme says:

    Hi nickol3,
    Micros can be a good thing as long as you take care of your own hair. So here are some things to remember if you decide to get them,

    1) Don’t let the braider braid your hair too tightly
    2) Use a spray moisturizer on a regular basis
    3) Never keep them in longer than 2.5 to 3 months at a time (the weight of the braid as your hair grows away from your scalp can start to snap your own hair off
    4) If you keep your hair braided for long periods of time, get your hairline redone as soon as the braid starts growing away from your scalp significantly…I’d say at about the 6-8 week mark…this is for the same reason in #3 but even more critical because your hairline is more fragile and therefore more vulnerable to breakage than the rest of your hair.

    That’s pretty much it.

    Good luck and take care!
    ~Nappyme

  7. jae says:

    I have a damaged hairline and it’s so ugly. I want to cry just thinking about it because I’m a young girl, and I know my hairline makes me seem less attractive.

    What can I do to replenish it?

  8. ladyT says:

    Nappyme I think your hair look perfectly fine I do not see any damage

    • nappyme says:

      Hi LadyT,
      I admit it’s hard to see in this pic, but it was there. And, it’s filled in a little better too. It’s a little thicker and a little longer, but not by much. But I’ve had several beauticians tell me that the thinning and shorter hair in this area on either side of my head is not uncommon as we age. Sooo, if that’s the case, I’m lucky this is confined to this little bitty area and not all over my whole head.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

