How to Detangle Those Pesky Multiple-strand Knots

As a nappy, no matter how you wear your hair, tangles and knots are simply inevitably. And as you know, the detangling process itself can create knots that weren’t even there to begin with — so what’s a nappy to do?

Well personally, I’ve tried pulling individual strands out of the fuzz balls I get at the ends of my twists or knots tangles and snarls (of at least two strands or more) I find anywhere in my hair, doing my best to salvadge as many strands as possible. I’ve also tried moisturizer to soften them up and create maximum slippage (ha! is that a word?) thus making it easier to pull the knots apart and detangle my hair. But all of this is time consuming and can be very frustrating to say the least and on occasion, I’ve just gotten so fed up that I just gave up and cut the knot out.

But now I have a secret weapon…

Yep you got it. A safety pin. The last time I took my twists down the ends of several had turned really rebellious and tried to knot up unforgivingly. I tried to pick them apart by pulling the strands out of the fuzz ball one at a time but Safety Pinthe knot kept getting tighter and tighter. Since the knot was so far up the hair shaft, if I had given in I would have ended up cutting off way to much length. That’s when I decided to try using a saftey pin. I inserted it into the middle of the knot to loosen it up. That did the trick. Using the tip of the pin, I was actually able to isolate each strand and pull it out. I was actually able to save all the hair this time, making me a very happy nappy.

Was this a fluke? Well each time I ran into a knot like this, I was quickly able to detangle it with my trust safety pin. So no, I definitely would say this an extremely effective little knot buster to keep handy whenever I need to detangle my hair. It sure beats everything else I’ve tried…so my little safety pin is an absolute keeper!
 

Comments
12 Responses to “How to Detangle Those Pesky Multiple-strand Knots”
  1. aulelia says:

    I am so trying this trick now! I am still unsure of whether I should go fully natural but I have an Afro now and tangles are the worst problem. I’ll test drive it for you :)

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Aulelia,
    Good luck. Let me know how you make out!

  3. sandra says:

    This is a great idea! It makes sense. I like to think of our hair like a delicate fabric: lambs wool makes beautiful sweaters. If you look at our hair (although we each have a different type head of hair) it looks like “yarn” and it’s interesting that some in the lock community have found that using a crochet like needle helps in tightening locks. And now you’ve found using a safety pin works. I’ve used safety pins before for loosening some knots in yarn. Thanks so much for this idea! A light went on.

  4. nappyme says:

    Hi Sandra,
    Glad you liked the tip!

  5. onyxspirals says:

    I used this same process when I took my locks down last year. I’d had them in for about 10-11 months. I was able to pull individual strings as you stated. When I finished, I had a small clump of the loose hair that had shed. Other than that, it worked beautifully and I was able to keep my shoulder length hair!

  6. augusta says:

    …yes slippage is a word

  7. Annonymous says:

    I just love your website and tips.
    I appreciate your blog…however, it’s a shame that we have to use things to make our hair comb-able. It should be our right to comb our hair.
    Peace.

  8. nappyme says:

    ^^^Well welcome!

    Ya know our hair is what it is. Don’t think folks with straight hair don’t have their own set of challenges and frustrations to deal with. This is ours. Wearing our hair naturally means dealing with it all and for me it simply means I go with the flow. No point in fighting it or wishing for something different cause it ain’t gonna happen.

    Instead, I celebrate my hair for what it is…not for what it isn’t. Makes me a much happier nappy in the long run.

    Take care!

  9. annonymous says:

    i tryed you tip and they work but still kept tangling up everyhour.
    what should i do?

  10. nappyme says:

    ^^^If you’re wearing your hair loose, you can’t get around the tangles. Use the pin or something similiar to detangle your hair, like prior to washing to styling in twists or something. You can’t keep the knots away when you’re wearing a fro or a puff.

    Hope that helps.
    ~Nappyme

  11. kryssy says:

    Wow!! Thanks for the tip!!! I just myhair down from it being in micro braids for almost our months. I washed it soon after, and my hair was in big knots. I was getting so fustrated with trying to pull them out, i resorted to yanking them out with my comb and brush. Itwas horrible, then i looked up how to pull knots out , and found your site!! Thank God I did, cause i was going to have to start cutting.

  12. nappyme says:

    Yeah…isn’t the internet a wonderful thing? Glad you found my site and found an immediately useful tip as well. :0)

    Good luck with you hair!

    Take care,
    ~Nappyme

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 508 other followers

