Hairline Breakage/Thinning from Micro-braids

This pic was taken on April 6, 2006. I have major hairline damage around my entire head from wearing micro-braids. They served their purpose though, so I do not advocate against wearing them as either a means to transtion or just to wear as a hair style. However, you absolutely must get your hairline touched up more often than the rest of your hair. I used to wear my braids for three months at a time. As your hair grows, the braids grow away from the scalp and their weight or constant manipulation along the hairline can cause breakage. If you’re pulling your hair back in a ponytail, the stress that you’re putting on your edges can eventually cause traction alopecia. Also, my hair is also definitely thinner around my edges in the front. Thank goodness I had thick hair to begin with so the thinning is probably only noticeable to me. But if you’re going to get micro-braids, definitely take care of your edges cause if you don’t, you’ll more than likely end up with issues similar or worse than mine.

Because my hairline is so messed up right now, I can’t wear my hair back in a puff. The breakage makes me look like I have a fuzzy halo around my head. That’s why I’ve had to learn how to be very creative with my flat twist styles cause I’ve had to figure out how to camoflage the damage.

Comments
2 Responses to “Hairline Breakage/Thinning from Micro-braids”
  1. Daniegirl says:

    Omg, i am goin through this right now with my edges,its actually grown alot since ive found megatek and , and the fuzz turned in to defined curls, but im having a hard time finding hair styles, my twist our always look really good but the broken sections just mess up the the way the front looks….what kind of hairstyles did you do to camoflouge it?

  2. nappyme says:

    To this day, my edges have still not recovered sufficiently. When I wear puffs, I have to use tons of thick product to lay my edges down and even then I have to use some type of plastic head band to camoflage my edges cause they tend to look rough and as they dryout they then tend to lift. Not a pretty sight, believe me.

    My signature style usually involves flat twists in the top and two-strand twists in the back, like you see here https://nappyme.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/twisted-bangsso-theyre-soooo-cute/

    This style or some variation of it has been my Godsend and actually my favorite. I always find myself going back to it whenever I try something new.

    So that’s really the key, find a style that you like and that allows you to work around your flaws or your damage. It took me awhile, but this works really well for me.

    Take care and good luck,
    ~Nappy me

Leave a Reply

