Moisturize

Nappy hair needs moisture — no ifs, ands or buts about it. If you want your hair to be healthy, thrive and retain length, figuring out how to make your hair retain moisture should be the most important goal on your list.

 

Why is that you say? Well, because nappy hair is inherently very dry. It all has to do with its coiled structure which also twists and turns as it grow. This makes it virtually impossible for the cuticles on the hair shaft to lay flat. So there they are like loose shingles on a roof, causing nappy hair to be very porous. They let water in but also make it easy for nappy hair to dry out quickly and making it very hard to stay moisturized.

 

In the summer, try water-based moisturizers that contain humectants like honey, glycerin or propylene glycol that will help your hair attract and retain moisture from the humid air. Since humectants don’t work well in drier climates or during the winter months, you may need to, if you’re not already doing so, add essential oils or butters to your winter routine to help keep your hair moisturized and stay feeling soft and supple. Keep a small spray bottle handy to freshen up your do throughout the day. Never let your hair get bone dry to the touch. You don’t have to walk around with your hair sopping wet or dripping like you have jheri-curl juice in it, but it should always feel ever so slightly moisturized.

Comments
12 Responses to “Moisturize”
  1. mrs.shae says:

    I’m from Louisiana and I don’t know where I can find EO or shea butter or anything that you have listed above. But this info is so very helpful and I thank you.

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Ms shae. Look for products that already have essential oils in them. To learn about essential oils, go to Motowngirl.com. You’ll have to experiment to find out what your hair likes and dislikes. I’m a no oil kinda nappy myself but I did finally give in to mixing jojoba oil into my Pro Line Lite Creme moisturizer to help keep my hair soft and supple through the winter.

  3. Farahly says:

    Sister, how are you we spoke about my hair never being able to twist I kinda got some results using less honey and making bigger twists so it didn’t turn out to be too bad lol. But I was suggesting Karen’s Body Beautiful Hair Milk and Hair Butter for this segment of discussion. Thanks again for the responses. peace, unity
    faraH<3

  4. MarakaYAH says:

    SHALOM, I LOVE THE NAPPY HAIR STYLES, THIS IS THE POWERFUL, NATURAL, & BEAUTIFUL LOOK OF OUR ANCESTORS THE ISRAELITES, BUT I’M LOOKING FOR DIFFERENT NAPPY STYLES TO WEAR SINCE I CUT OFF MY LOCKS. ANY SUGGESTIONS? THANK YOU & BE BLESSED… MARAKAYAH YISRAEL

  5. nappyme says:

    Hi Maraka welcome to NPP101,

    You’ve got a variety of choices that you can check out if you’ll just peruse through the links on the right side of the page. You’ll find my hair done in a variety of styles under Nappy Hair my Style, Flat Twists/Puff Combos, French Roll, Heat free straw sets etc.

    Also, at the top of the page, click on cNapp albums that will give you links to a large number of hair albums.

    Enjoy!

  6. Jayson says:

    Good evening,

    i came across your site when i was trying to find information to help me with my hair. Is there any info you can get me about my hair. I have a small afro but i gets very frizzy and it tangles up. Most of the time i spend removing the knots in my hair i’m attempted to cut my hair off all to get but before that i was wonder is there any thing you can advise on.

  7. nappyme says:

    Hi Jayson,
    I’m confused about your being concerned that your afro is frizzy. It’s supposed to be frizzy so I don’t have any advice for you in terms of defrizzing your fro.

    With regard to you the knots and tangles that’s kind of par for the course as well and it’s one of the reasons that I don’t wear my hair in a fro or a puff cause my hair knots and tangles relentlessly.

    The only thing I might suggest is that, if your hair is long enough that you can put your hair in some large twists at night and then take them down and finger fluff. That kind of helps my hair keep some of the tangles at bay during the day and gives you a bigger puff or fro as well.

    Try that. And remember, if you’re trying to gain length, try NOT to pic your hair all the time because you’re snapping off your ends and in effect — giving yourself a hair cut.

    Hope some of this helps and good luck.

    ~Nappyme

  8. FREE says:

    Hi Nappyme I’m from JAMAICA and I know you know what the climate/temperature is like here, so my hair needs xtra attention as it relates to moisture, what do you suggest?

  9. Tawana Cox says:

    Help! My daughter hair is very dry and kinky also known as “NAPPY.” It refuses to grow I have tried everything. It breaks very easily.

  10. thickandnappy says:

    I use Carol’s Daughters products. Trying to see if they are a part of the no-mineral based products to use? And thank you for this site!

  11. michelle says:

    Propylene glycol isnt a good thing to use on ur hair. it is linked to causing cancers in the body.

Leave a Reply

