Switch to a Non-sulfate Shampoo

Yep…you got it. Shampoos containing sulfates are very drying ingredients that strip your hair of all oils and moisture and are found in most over-the-counter products. You’ll see them listed on the bottle as Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and Lauryl Sulfate. If you’re not using heavy products in your hair, there’s simply no need for these ingredients. Opt instead for organic non-sulfate shampoos and conditioners that are specifically formulated for dry hair. JASON and Aubrey brand products come quickly to mind as superior choices, but there are others on the market as well.

Comments
15 Responses to “Switch to a Non-sulfate Shampoo”
  1. Where can I find this product

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Natrualinheart,
    I’ve found these products at places like Whole Foods and other natural type food/health stores. You can also find it online at Aubreyorganics.com.

  3. lenora says:

    can you name the other products that are similar to jason’s?

  4. Carla says:

    How about sodium laureth sulfate? Is that bad too?

  5. nappyme says:

    Carla, welcome to NPP101. Yes, SLS is a big culprit in causing dryness. It’s sooo unecessary and not needed in a shampoo to get your hair clean. It’s definitely an ingredient to stay away from for sure!

  6. Simzeee says:

    “Real Solutions” is a no sulfate shampoo. You can get it at Rite Aid for $5.99.

  7. Azie says:

    Giovanni Organic Hair Care is also a great line of products. I’ve read about them and ended up finding them in Target but you have to look for the part of beauty section that has natural products like Burt’s Bees. I also recommend Carol’s Daughter, which I am sure you have heard of. That company does not use sulfates or any chemicals that aren’t strictly plant-based preservatives. She has stores in NYC and they are in most Sephora beauty stores now. Or order online.

  8. Diane says:

    If you use a non-sulfate shampoo, what do you use for conditioner?

    Also, do you need to use an anti-residue /clarifying shampoo ?

  9. Simzeee says:

    I use Real Solutions conditioner. Clarifying shampoo? No way. It strips my hair making very difficult to comb.

  10. nappyme says:

    I wouldn’t use a clarifying shampoo on a regular basis for the same reason that Simzeee just gave. In fact, I’ve never used one. My stylist used some in my hair about two years ago but I haven’t used one since. I see no reason to strip my hair like that and don’t think that my hair has suffered any ill effects from not using it.

  11. BionicWoman says:

    What about shampoos that say DEA Lauryl Sulfate? I’ve used the shampoos from Verifen Complex Hairoil.com (Formally Wanakee) off and on since 1997.
    Would this ingredient be considered drying over time as well? Also, what is your recommendation for a good clarifying shampoo for black hair that is Sulfate free?

  12. Sasha Two Pistols says:

    This was very helpful….I will most definitely check this out. I’ve been wondering about shampoos, since I’ve basically got all my knowledge down, somewhat, on conditioners.

  13. NickiTay says:

    I have color treated hair, so I need a sulfate shampoo to protect the color, and make it look glossy and shiney

    People complain that sulfate free shampoos the lack of sudsy action, which sometimes happens with sulfate-free shampoo, but you can try the Shielo Color Protect Shampoo, which is sulfate free and it lathers up and is better than any sulfate free shampoo I have tried. Definitely best to make your hair look great while being sulfate and chemical free…

  14. nappyme says:

    Hi Nicki,
    That’s interesting because sulfates are extremely harsh detergents, and it would seem they’d have the opposite effect of preserving your color because they strip your hair and are very drying. And just a question…do you have nappy hair? Like mine? If you do, I have yet to see nappy hair be glossy and shiney…

Leave a Reply

