Nappy Niece Updates

ash1.jpgFor sure my niece has no hangups about nappy hair. None. She has her moments when she wants to see it straight. And honestly, I think her other auntie who braids her hair on a regular basis presses her hair out before she braids it so I think she’s getting her straight fix that way. I’ve told her not to let her aunt press her hair, but my niece is hard headed, and although her mom has told her not to let her press it either, she does it anyway. I don’t think my sister is 100 percent on board with me about the no heat concept so I don’t think she REALLY cares one way or the other if that aunt is pressing it. Oh well, I’m just thankful the child is still nappy.

 Today she got a fresh twisted do. My sister used to be so style challanged but she has gotten sooooo much better with parting her hair to give her different styles. My niece loves them and was soooo excited. So she calls into my bedroom from downstairs…

 “Auntie you wanna come take some pictures of my hair?”
Me: “Did you get it redone?”
“Yep…mama just finished.”
Me: “Is it cute?”
“Yep it’s really cute. Are you coming to take my picture for your hair album?”
Me: “Yep honey I’m coming right now.”
“OK.”

When I get downstairs this child is grinning ear-to-ear. So here they are…here latest hair pics. Presenting…my happy, nappy niece!

ash3.jpg

ash4.jpg

ash2.jpg

ash8.jpg

ash7.jpg

ash6.jpg

ash5.jpg

Comments
15 Responses to “Nappy Niece Updates”
  1. caligurl says:

    Those are gorgeous! Will you sister come and do mine? 🙂

    What a beautiful niece you have. It’s wonderful to see a young person taking care of her hair.

    btw, you were right about the professional natural styles [coworkers not caring]. I’m into week two of flat twists with 2-strands in the back. I’ve gotten a few compliments…other than that I don’t think people really care.

    Take care and God bless

  2. nappyme says:

    Awe thanks Caligurl. Please, I can’t even get her to do mine. When I first started experimenting with natural styles I couldn’t flat twist my own hair to save my life. But see, back then, my sister couldn’t make really good parts so I’d part my hair then she would flat twist it for me. But because I needed to be able to get ma’ hur did when I wanted it done I was forced to learn how to style it on my own rather quickly. Why? Cause I couldn’t get my sister to do it anymore. Really kinda pissed me off…she never wanted to do it for me.

    Oh well, now I’ve got mad skills of my own. And apparently she does too!

    Glad you like it!

    Oh and about our hair and the work place. See…I toldja. Hardly anybody cares except us. And usually if somebody does care it’s not USUALLY white folks, it’s black folks cause they’re so dang ashamed of natural hair. Rock on wid your nappygirl with your bad self!

  3. curious says:

    First of all your child is beautiful
    but i don’t understand, yes her hair and she is beautiful but why is the length of her hair emphasized? is it the length which make it more beautiful? her hair is mixed and more manageable one without mixed hair would not have that length. i’m not offended or anything just simply confused as to why the length is emphasized.

  4. nappyme says:

    Hi curious,
    Thanks for the compliment on my niece. There are lots of reasons to emphasize the length of hair. One reason is because nappy hair hides it’s length. So it’s fun to show it off. Another reason is that many black women (as do many women in general) love long hair, and these days it’s rare to see natural hair, let alone see LONG natural hair and especially nappy hair of our texture, which is very tightly coiled, extremely porous and therefore very dry and prone to breakage if you don’t know how to care for it properly. I think it’s encouraging to see that nappy hair of this texture can indeed grow very long if you learn how to care for it. Yet another reason is that as a child her hair natural hair stretched to her belt loops and then my sis gave in and put a relaxer. In less than six months, my niece’s longer-than-waist-length hair was above her shoulders and so thin you could see through it. We’ve been nursing her length back ever since. And finally, it’s just plain fun to see how long her hair is getting. We all get a kick of of seeing how long our hair is growing. For instance, I measured my mom’s hair last night and in twists her hair is about 14 inches long. If I had felt like taking her twists down to measure I’m sure it’s at least 16 inches and maybe longer.

    Many black folks think our hair cannot grow to really long lengths, and that’s one of the reasons I enjoy showing how long it’s getting…helps dispell the myth that black folks can’t grow long hair. Stop putting all the damn chemicals in our hair, learn how to care for it properly, and like us, and most anyone who wants to can retain their length and have really long hair too.

    That’s why!

  5. November says:

    Hello.

    Her hair looks absolutely beautiful….I was wondering if hair growth and healthiness can also be achieved by using extensions in the braids….I have been braiding my daughters hair with extensions for years……

  6. nappyme says:

    Hi November!
    Yes extension can help promote length retention. But your hair underneath still has to be well taken care of…if not then extension braids can certainly undermine your best efforts to achieve longer lengths.

    I wore extension braids for almost four years yet when I took them out for good, I only had about 7 inches of hair. But at the time I was less concerned with growing my hair and was much more interested in simply having a convenient hair style that would hold up under a 7-day-a-week work out schedule.

    If I were to put braids back in now, I’d go about caring for my hair much differently than I did back then.

    If you want more information about caring for hair while in extensions, Growafrohairlong.com can help you out in that department.

    Good luck!

  7. quan says:

    how does she twist like that can she tell me how

  8. Farahly says:

    Your Niece’s hair is so healthy looking it’s beautiful! what products does she use that makes it look so radiant and shiny?

  9. nappyme says:

    Hi Farahly,
    I’m not sure what product she used back then. I know she’s currently using a braid, loc and twist creme by Isoplus that’s giving her good results.

  10. Black Huskie says:

    Man her hair is beautiful. When I was 11, I BEGGED my mother to let me get a relaxers so I could “fit in” with the other kids. Now I’m 14 and my hair is at best, slightly past my chin. I am using Parnevu and Doo Gro AND Dr. Miracles while my hair is in some cornrows. Whatever is in that kids hair makes it so beautiful. You mind sharing some secrets? LOL. Thanks. If my hair does grow, I might still relax or press it but I’ll be more careful.

  11. nappyme says:

    Hi Black Huskie and welcome!

    Thanks for stopping by and admiring my nieces hair. I absolutely adore her hair in twists. Unfortunately, going through another phase where she wants to see her hair straightened. While her mom, my sis, isn’t totally against heat, she does tend to not give into that request very often…thank goodness.

    With regard to what product my sister uses on my niece’s hair, the answer to your question is in the post just above yours.

    You sound like you have a pretty good head of hair so enjoy it and take good care of it. And if length is what you’re after, that will come in time.

    God bless and take care,
    ~Nappyme

  12. Duh-v says:

    Hello,
    Wow, I am just wondering, my mom has been perming my hair since ever ( as long as can remember) and I use to have a lot of hair; thick and long, but my hair hasen’t been growing for the last 7 years!!! ( I am now 18) It would break than grow to the initial length and never longer than that.. What should I do… can you help me please???!!!

  13. nappyme says:

    Hi Duh-v,
    Welcome to NPP101!
    Sadly sis, I’m sorry I can’t help you with regard to how to take care of a relaxer. My hair NEVER thrived with chemicals on it. After 20 years of constant breakage and thinning, I had to face the fact that if I wanted healthy hair, I had to stop putting chemicals in it.

    Reading just the little bit that you’ve shared with me, I’d urge you to give up the chemicals too. Don’t let yourself go through 20 years of misery before you come to realize that you’d have been better off if you left they lye alone. There’s soo much information and support on the internet that can help you through it all for and learn how to love, embrace, care for and style your natural hair. I had no idea such resources existed when I stopped relaxing six years ago and had to go it alone for the first four years. But you don’t have to.

    If you decide you do want to go natural, I urge you to join Nappturality.com. We have a transitioner’s forum that can help you get started on your journey. Another great resource would be Motowngirl.com.

    So that’s my advice. Go natural and don’t look back. I KNOW in the long run you’ll be very happy you did.

    Take care and God Bless,
    ~Nappyme

  14. juanicia says:

    hey, my sisters hair is so ridiculous!! her hair was beautiful and thick when we were living down south. Now we moved to chicago and her her broke off quick. I became very mad because I grew her hair out for so long I dont even have the time and patience to try 2 grow it out again. I dont know what to do. I dont want to put chemicals in it but her hair is truly nappy, may I say kunta kintaish, and their are short peices in their I cant even grab to braid it. I dont know what 2 do!!

  15. nappyme says:

    Hi juanicia,
    Ok… so your sister has tight nappy hair. That’s not a big deal, it’s what God blessed her with and it’s still as beautiful as anyone elses. I hope you’re not making her feel self conscious about it because it sounds like you think having this texture is a bad thing…like she doesn’t have good hair. If that’s your thinking…then shame on you. If it’s not, then I apologize, but it’s time we as a people stop the madness of considering tightly coiled, highly textured hair as something to be ashamed of. Our hair, when well taken care of, is soooo incredibly beautiful and versatile whatever the length.

    But one thing is for sure, if you put chemicals in it, you’ll be asking for more trouble than it’s worth, and you’ll likely be setting her up for years of feeling like her kunta kintaish naps need to be fixed to be beautiful.

    Whether you “feel” like putting energy into it or not, her hair will grow, but it’s up to you as to HOW well you take care of it in order for her to gain her length back. I don’t know how old she is but it sounds like she’ll just need to wear a teeny weeny fro for a little while till her hair grows out enough to braid. Since most folks hair grows about 1/2 inch per month, in about four months she can have two inches of beautiful, healthy nappy hair. By June, she’ll have about three inches. That’s more than enough to work with.

    So just get it shaped up and keep it moisturized. Don’t vigorously pick at it cause you’ll pop her ends off and cause even more breakage. Visit and join my hair board cNappymeNow.com for more information on how to take care of her texture of hair and how to get it styled up once she gets some length.

    Hope this helps!

    Take care and God bless,
    ~Nappyme

Leave a Reply

