“Oh girl, You Got That Good Hair”

At work, this lady had been wearing cornrows for awhile. She finally took them out. So when I saw her this morning, I noticed and decided to make small talk about her hair…

Me: “Oh…you took your cornrows out.”

Coworker: “Yeah, I just got my relaxer done over the weekend. I’m trying to get my hair to grow back. I don’t like short hair. It was breaking off so bad that I cut it all off and decided to start all over. I’ma let it rest and then I’ll put the braids back in.”

Me: “Oh. Hmmm. Why relax it while you’re trying to grow it out?”

Coworker: “Well, to me your braids just look better when your hair is straight. They don’t really look all that good when your hair is nappy. Well, I guess if you like the nappy look then it’s ok. But I got that really, nappy hair. You know that kind that breaks combs.”

Me: So now I’m like…wait a minute. “What do you think I have?”

Coworker: She looked at me quizzically for a beat and said, “Oh girl, you got that good hair.”

Me: “I’m like, “Oh, ok.”

Now here’s the deal…when I wear twists I get this ALL the time. It took me a while to figure this out, but I came to the conclusion that people are reacting to the fact that the ends of my twists coil up. When I was just using grease in my hair, it just always looked dry and my ends were whispy looking and almost straight. They never coiled up. And NOBODY ever gave my hair a second look.  But when I discovered moisturizers with glycerine, my hair started looking healthier, and I get these cute little coils.

Shoot, if I had know I had all this “good hair” hiding up under a relaxer all these years, I’d have gone natural many, many years ago!

Now for my question? Does everybody’s ends curl up like this?

Love Gaze

I often tell people that, my hair is just doing what nappy hair does when you figure out how to care for it and find the right products. I guess I kinda assumed that all nappy hair coiled up on the ends like mine does when you use moisturizers. Am I wrong?

Comments
12 Responses to ““Oh girl, You Got That Good Hair””
  1. bebedee (from NP) says:

    Lovin’ your coils….cute!
    My hair coils on the end everywhere except my crown. It’s kinda straightish/wavy there. Whenever I do finger coils, I have to retwist the crown ones daily *grrr*. Maybe that’s just a result of scab hair. I’m hoping that things will change once I get a trim.

  2. Escoveitch says:

    I don’t know if your wrong or right, but the hair in the back of my head does that when I twist wet. The front coils less.

  3. Tami says:

    Hey girl, those twist look awesome! I used to think that my hair was too “nappy” to go natural and spent 14 years(since childhood) getting relaxer burns and hating relaxers with a passion. I finally got the guts to transition & cut my hair, and although i’m wearing braids, i feel liberated. I took out a few braids in the back and twisted my hair in three strand twists using a shea butter mixture i made and my hair is so beautiful and soft i can’t believe it! it’s even doing the little curly thing that yours is doing and it makes me wonder about all those wasted years of relaxing and just like you, if i’d known that my nappy hair could be so soft and beautiful, i would have gotten brave a long time ago and cut off my hair. I’m still going through all the mental and emotional changes that one can expect when going natural and embracing their nappiness, but with each day it gets easier. I just need to get brave enough to remove these braids cause people react in shock and disgust when i tell them cheerfully that i cut off 18″ of my hair to go natural – that’s why i wear the braids, cause i don’t like the “whys” Anyway, you are doing an excellent job here. I stumbled on this site by accident a few days ago and i love it! Never have i seen a place so devoted to kinks instead of making me feel inferior that i don’t have a 3B all hair is beautiful, and thanks for doing your part to show that 🙂

  4. Barb says:

    The only time that I see my hair coil like that is when it is wet. When my hair is dry I have never noticed coils. Your hair looks good (you are so funny).

    Barb

  5. nappyme says:

    bebedee, Escoveitch, Tami and Barb,
    Y’all thanks for stopping by and for your comments and the compliments!

    @Barb…girl I’m tellin you get some carefree curl or some wave nuveau or some product that’s water and glycerine based. My wet hair doesn’t clump or coil like this. My individual strands all go their separate ways. Same thing when dry. The ONLY time my hair coils like this is when it’s twisted and ONLY if I used this type of moisturizer. So occasionally I uses the curl moisturizers but my current product of choice is Pro Line’s Comb Thru Lite Creme moisturizer. I simply apply to each section of hair and then I twist and the ends of my hair curl up. Never knew they could or would do this, so this was a pleasant surprise.

    @Tami,
    You’re soooo welcome. I’m glad your found me. My concern about my nappy hair has turned into a passion to share what I’ve learned about taking care of nappy hair. You’re right all hair is beautiful, even those of us who have the nappiest of the nappiest.

    Keep coming back, I enjoyed having you and reading your comments and thanks for visiting Nappturology 101!

  6. outremount says:

    That’s funny. We have to get past the good hair/bad hair mentality.
    To answer you question, my hair coil up like yours. At first I thought it was because of the Pantene curls product, but I noticed that even without those products I get the coils. I just think this is what our hair does when we don’t take a comb to our hair. I think combing causes frizzy ends.

  7. inmynature says:

    I thought that all nappy hair types did this if plaited or twisted…
    I assumed that the curls come together at the end because they are loose…

  8. Barb says:

    I did what you suggested and I have coils! I can not believe it thank you so much for your advice! My twists looks so moist and coily.

    Barb

  9. nappyme says:

    @Barb…see I toldja.

    In addition to being so darned cute, I think they also give your twists a more finished look. When mine started doing this, I discovered that I liked wearing them a whole lot more.

  10. LBellatrix says:

    Hey NM (gotta get used to no HM),

    Mine coiled up at the ends too. In fact, on the rare times when they didn’t coil up, I knew it was time for a trim.

    No one has ever said to me “You’ve got that good hair”…even when they were looking at my twists, twistouts, and braidouts and scratching their heads trying to figure out how I got my hair to look “like that.” Perhaps it’s because I’m so dark and most black folks are carrying around that light skin/good hair ignorance (eg. only mixed people / people who are mixed with something have “good” hair, and only “unmixed” people have nappy hair). *shrug*

  11. nappyme says:

    Hi LBellatrix,
    See, I guess the too-dark menatality would have never crossed my mind. Growing up, I knew several folks with “good” hair and really dark skin. Remembering back, I the little kids up the street whose mom was Native American were very dark kids with gorgeous wavy, curly hair. Then I remember going to junior high with a girl named Robin, and she had really, pretty “good” hair that I admired. She too had a very dark complexion. In college, I pledged with a girl that had very coarse, curly — not nappy — hair. Also dark skinned. And oh, how could I forget this young woman that I worked with for a while…she was dark skinned as well and one day she came to work and her cute curlie hair had been butchered. Apparently, she had gotten really drunk over the weekend and cut it off with a pair of scissors. Oops.

    So I’ve been exposed to too many people with various skin tones who have had “good” hair so it would never occur to me otherwise.

  12. deb says:

    I’ve been natural since 2000. Wore braids/weave from 2000-2001. Wore locs from 2001 – 2007, when I CHOPPED off my locs….literally hacked them off with no rhyme or reason–to maybe 2-3″ in length. I’ve been wearing braids/weaves for the past year, but I’m tired of them. I took my hair down last night, and I’m just below shoulder length, and close to APL. I want to see what I can do with “my” hair. I’ve just discovered your blog, and am learning a lot.

Leave a Reply

