One Year of Nappy Dos

When I first embarked on my loose-haired napptural journey about 14 months ago, I didn’t have a clue about what to do with my nappy hair. It’s not like I was a stranger to doing nappy since, as a teenager, I used to braid hair around the neighborhood for extra money. Fast forward to 2003, after I moved back to my hometown, my sister frequently looked to me to style her daughter’s hair. Problem was, I couldn’t quite translate that ability into being able to do my own hair. Once I asked my sister to do my hair. She can’t part to save her life, but she can do some great flat twists. So we did this marathon hair session with me parting and her twisting, and after that she would never do it again…always had some excuse why she couldn’t or didn’t want to do it. That’s when I realized that if I wanted to wear my hair natural, I was just going to have to learn how to do it myself.

So, I started frequenting Nappturality and other online hair sites, and thanks to other napptural ladies’ willingness to share their hair care and styling tips on the forum and via their hair albums, I became inspired to learn how to do my own hair. I have to say that my early attempts were, well interesting. But I was committed to learning how to do my own hair, and that involved learning how to do some of the most basic styling techniques… like flat twists.

I persevered. I think I’ve managed to come up with the cutest styles that suit me to a T. So a couple of days ago, I put them all in a slideshow, partly to show them off cause I think they’re soo cute, and also to give folks a look-see at how versatile nappy hair is when it comes to styling.

So here they are, one year of my favorite nappy dos. Please enjoy!

Comments
4 Responses to “One Year of Nappy Dos”
  1. caligurl says:

    Congratulations to you. It’s been a while since I’ve visited your site but I’m loving your slide show. You encouraged me in December to try the flat twist front/two strands in the back. I want to say thank you. I’ve been heat free since December. I can’t believe it and am looking forward to my 1 year anniversary. Take care and God bless.

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Caligurl!
    I remember you! I’m so glad to find out that you’re doing fine, and that you’re heat free and about to celebrate your first nappiversary. How wonderful is that?!

    Thanks for dropping back by and letting me know how your journey is going. I wish you much success. Come back soon and good luck to you.

    Sending peace and blessing back atcha!

  3. Anja says:

    Hi
    Great hair styles. I have to learn to flat twist or something. I normally pay to have my own hair briaded or something, but it seems crazy. I need to do my own hair. I will keep visiting your site to get tips. I need hair styles great for work and updos for the warm weather.

    Great variety!!
    Thanks,
    Anja in Atlanta

  4. nappyme says:

    Anja, you’re soo welcome. Thanks for stopping by and come back soon!

Leave a Reply

