Celebrating One Year of Loose-Nappy Hair and Sharing My Journey With You!

I’ve actually documented my hair journey for an entire year. Can’t believe it. When it comes to stuff like journaling and such, I’ve never been able to do it with much consistency. I remember trying to keep a diary as a child. I got one for Christmas when I was 10 years old. It was red and had a little lock and key. I think I wrote maybe one or two entries and uh…yeah…never bothered with it again, cause I could never think of anything to write about.

Then, when I attended graduate school out of state, I started writing my friends these extremely long-winded letters. Had plenty to say then. Later, I learned that a couple of my friends kept journals and I was amazed that they could just randomly write about their lives and keep that up on a consistent basis. From that point on, I would try my hand at journaling periodically, but could never do so consistently. Guess I still didn’t have much to say.

That is until I discovered my nappturality. When I started my loose-haired journey, which became a necessity for a lot of reasons, I started frequenting hair sites, including Nappturality.com trying to get a handle on how to care for my hair. That’s when I found out about these things called hair albums. I ran across several that I could litterally spend hours in because of the commentary that went along with the pictures. Shuger~Rocks~Locs is one such album and Roshini.net is another. I absolutely loved how they chronicled their journeys from the very beginning — they were sooooo inspiring. So, in April of 2006, I began documenting my own journey in pictures and words. And I’ll tell ya, I really didn’t think I’d stick with it. I remember writing my first entry and saying that my goal was to keep my effort going for just one year. Honestly, I really thought I’d get bored with it and give it up after a few entries.

Well here I am a year later. I’m absolutely amazed and astounded that my initial hair album on my Smugmug site has exploded into what is now Nappturology 101 here on WordPress. And I’m equally amazed that my little ole passion about my hair has so moved me to start my own niche hair forum, cNappymeNow, for women with Four B, nappy, nappy hair. Who knew I’d have so much to say about nappy hair? I surely didn’t. After all, I didn’t even know this world existed prior to February of last year. But there you have it and here it is. One year of my nappy journey documented in pictures and words. For those of you that have been peeking into my world, I hope you’ve liked my pics, the articles and reading about my Random Nappy Thoughts and Experiences. And beyond all of that, I hope I’ve inspired someone on their journey as others have inspired me.

Can I do this for another year? I sure hope so. It’s been a lot of fun discovering and learning about my nappturality and then sharing it with all of you.

Comments
2 Responses to “Celebrating One Year of Loose-Nappy Hair and Sharing My Journey With You!”
  1. LBellatrix says:

    Gurll…I’ve been blabbing online about hair since 1999…and still going strong! I might stop when Oprah goes napptural. lol

    Congratulations on making it to one year napptural! And thank you for the lovely work you do on the CNapp forum as well as the support you give (graphically and textually!) on NP.

  2. nappyme says:

    Awww thanks LBellatrix,

    Girl… bet! When Oprah stops lyin’ and fryin’ the world will probably follow suit!

    It’s been an interesting year. Being a loose nappy has been both fun and challenging. Just glad to share whatever I’ve learned here on NPP101, CNN and on NP.

    As always, see ya on the boards!

Leave a Reply

