“I Betcha She Doesn’t Like Her Hair…” (Really?)

Ok, I’m riding on fumes when I get off work today so I stop at a gas station. I’m at the window paying for my gas when I see a man and a women walking in together and get in line behind me. I tell the cashier that I want $10 on pump two and as I’m waiting for him to ring me up and give me my change, I hear the guy behind me say,

“You like that,” to the lady.

Now I kinda assume they’re talking about my hair but most of my attention is still really focused on me getting my change back. Then I hear the lady say “Mmmm hmmm…I doo.” Heheheh…she’s practically drooling…

The guy then says, “You like that huh?”

“Yeah, I really do, it’s nice and all natural.”

At this point I’ve got my change, and I’m turning around just as the guy is saying, “I bet she doesn’t like it.”

Now I’m facing them, and he says directly to me, “Do you like it?” Now of course I’m certain they’re talking about my hair, but this question is so incredibly asinine that I raise both brows cause I really can’t believe the question he just asked me, so I ask, “Do I like what?”

“Your hair.”

“Of course I do. I love, love love my hair… I absolutely adore it.” Now I catch a glimpse of his lady friend, and she’s smiling in agreement.

“You do…you like that huh.”

“Of course,” I say. “What would make you ask such a question?” I ask as I walk past him to leave and put gas in my car. Although asked, it’s intended as a rhetorical question cause I don’t really intend to have additiona conversation about my hair since a) he’s ignorant and b) I really don’t care why he would ask such an idiotic question. Plus I’m sure his answer would be as retarded as the question anyway.

Good grief. If that lady is his girlfriend or even his wife, should she ever decide to go natural, I’m sure she’ll have her hands full trying to deal with that fool.

Geeze!

Comments
13 Responses to ““I Betcha She Doesn’t Like Her Hair…” (Really?)”
  1. Stephanie says:

    Hey, I am wondering if you could offer some advice/instructions on going natural. I have not had a perm since 10/06 and I am beginning to see my natural hair shining thru. However, I am a slave to extension(braids, twist, cornrows). I just love them. Problem is about 2 months back I had a new stylist. She braided too tight and hence I have a lemon size bald spot on the crown of my head. Pray with me that it one day grows back! Well my hair is damaged and I am too embarrassed to just wear it ala natural without scaring the general public. I had considered cutting short(boy short-almost to the scalp) but that was before the braiding disaster. Now I have it braided in large goddess braids trying let the damaged area heal. I am using Dr Miracle’s hair breakage formula. Sorry for the long sermon but a sista needs some help. I even have pics of the bald spot if you don’t mind loosing your lunch. Hope to hear from you soon.

  2. nappiejean says:

    You don’t say what the woman’s hair looked like, but I guess we can assume it was permed. I bet she went home and looked in the mirror and wondered to herself how she’d look…
    By the way, where have you been? Miss your snappy replies over at NP.

  3. nappyme says:

    Hi Stephanie!
    Hmmm… If you been pokin’ around my site, you may know that I wore braids for more than three year at first because I didn’t know what to do with my hair when I first started transitioning and working out all the time. Then I ended up really loving my braids; hense the reason I wore them so long. Then after that became impractical, I found the hair boards and learned how to maintain and style my hair, but I certainly didn’t have a bald spot to contend with. There is a member on NP who has a stress bald spot that she styles around and her hair is always sooooo cute. But for the life of me at the moment I can’t remember her name. I’ll rack my brain and come up with her name and I’ll email it and a link to her hair album to you so you can get some ideas.

    You say it’s been two months since your hair came out in the crown? Have you started seeing any new growth? If not, you should go see a dermatologist to make sure you don’t have any permanent hair loss. You might also check over on Nappturality.com in the Traction Alopecia forum to see what you can find out. I’m sure there are a lot of folks who post there who can help you out and give you some advice in this area.

    Honestly, I’d like to see you lose the synthetic hair and go completely natural, it can only be better for both your hair and scalp in the long and short run. I don’t know about you, but by the time I did stop wearing fake hair over my own, I was really sick of it anyway. There are soo many things that I can do with my hair in its natural state that I never knew was possible. It has been wonderfully liberating, and I’m hoping you’ll be able to experience this too with you hair and never look back.

    Good luck and keep me posted.

  4. nappyme says:

    @Nappyjean… I just replied to you but it’s not showing up… hmmm… Im gonna come back to check to see if it posts before I reply again. In the meantime, I had forgetten about the other part of your post when you asked about the other lady. Ha! I was originally so focused on the butt head that asked me if I liked my own hair that I never really did look over at his lady friend. Seems to me she was permed but I couldn’t swear to it.

  5. Barbara says:

    You handled that IDIOT with such class.

  6. nappyme says:

    Nappyjean I’m perplexed about what happened to my original reply. Anyhoo, yes I’m MIA over on NP these days. I’ve been posting on that site almost everyday for over a year ever since I joined. I really need a break. Plus Nappturology 101 really begs for my attention and new content and so does my forum cNappymeNow. It’s a wonderful, growing and thriving community for folks with cNapp hair and so that is commanding a lot of my time. It’s truely a labor of love. If you’re ever so inclined stop by and say hi!

    Otherwise, I’m sure we’ll run into each other on NP from time to time. I still post occasionally and check for PMs.

    Take care!

  7. 70ssoulchild says:

    Hey NappyMe!

    I’m in the same place you are on NP so I’ve taken a break and I absolutely LOVE your blog and your response to that ignorant man. Hopefully your response, coupled with his lady friend’s reaction will give him some much needed food for thought.

    You go girl, for being a napptural ambassador of the highest caliber!

  8. nappyme says:

    Bararba thanks a lot! @ 70ssoulchild. Hey girl! I’m so glad you popped in to say hi and post some comments. It’s great to hear from you. Also glad you’re enjoying my blog. It’s such a labor of love. Sometimes I think, ok what am I going to write about and dang if everyday life doesn’t provide me with material for my blog. Too funny, and it always happens when I least expect it.

    Drop back by soon and often.

    Take care,
    ~Nappyme

  9. Jaira says:

    Ha! What a dummy.

  10. meggy says:

    hi i absolutely love your site. I have found alot of info here. I wanted to ask you something, you say that you don’t use any heat at all, but how do you do your deep conditioning treatments then?

  11. nappyme says:

    Hi meggy,
    Welcome to NPP101!

    The cuticles on nappy hair are always raised which makes the hair extremely porous, meaning it let’s moisture in but dries out just as quickly. The only reason to use heat to deep condition is so that it can raise the cuticle to allow the mositure penetrate. If your cuticles are already open…then what’s the reason for the heat. Hair with normal to high porosity really doesn’t need an external source of heat for deep conditioning because a good percentage of your body heat escapes from your head. Just put on a plastic shower cap after you apply your favorite conditioner and let your body do the work of helping it work it’s way into your hair shaft.

  12. Amy says:

    I know I am late but I love your poise and response. It is sad that there are so many men that have bought into the hair lies and even worse when they pressue their loved ones to do thing that are not good for them. But I am happy to see another beautiful black woman representing the natural cause.

  13. nappyme says:

    Amy, welcome and thanks! Glad you’re enjoying NPP101. Stop back soon and often.

    ~Nappyme

Leave a Reply

