Hair Envy?

Y’all I found myself just a tad bit jealous of my little niece this past Saturday. Over the weekend, her mom finally got her to give up the puff, which she’d been wearing for the better part of a month. Saturday, she shampooed and conditioned it and the twisted up the back. Sunday, she tackled the rest.

So out of curiousity I asked my sis to stretch one of her twists in the back to see how long her hair was getting. What I saw almost made me fall out of my chair. Her hair easily stretched down to the top of her bra strap. And what followed next was an emotion I was not prepared for — jealousy.

See up until April of this year, our hair in length was pretty close…well, maybe her’s was a little longer but nonetheless, my hair was almost bra-strap length. Her’s was armpit length. But even so, she’s also taller, so the same milestones (eg., shoulder length, bra-strap length, midback, waistlength etc., means our hair will NOT be the same length. With her height, her hair has to be longer than mine to reach each of these milestones. (Ok…does this make sense…I was pretty sleepy when I first wrote this so I feel like I’m rambling. My apologies.

Anyhoo, back in about April or May I ended up getting four inches of hair cut off. Some of y’all may recall how distraught I was ’bout that. It took me awhile to get over it. After a while, I could see how thick and luscious my hair was, because the ratty ends were gone. Finally I got to a point where I could start loving and appreciating my hair all over again…despite the fact that it felt like I was starting over with my quest to reach lengths never before seen or experienced on my head.

Boo, hoo, hoo.   I got over it. Or so I thought. But when I saw my niece’s hair stretched down to her bra strap I suddenly thought…”No…that’s not fair! My hair was supposed to reach bra-strap length first!” Ok..now it’s not like I dwelled on this thought, but there you have it, I actually felt it. Silly right? We’re not in competition. Quite frankly, most of the time, she’s oblivious to all this hair stuff that I speak of anyway. If we, (meaning meaning me, my mom and my sis) didn’t make such a big deal out of how long her hair is getting, I honestly believe she’d probably NEVER think about it. We’re the one’s obsessed with length — not her. So yeah, do I think this little covert, emotional outburst was silly, well of course I do. But it just goes to show you how much, how badly we’re conditioned to want long (and in the case of da naps) big hair.

Eventually, I’m sure it will rub off on her but she’s just too young to care right now. Anyhoo, here’s an update. I posted this on NP back in January of this year in our Children’s with Naps thread in the Natural Styles Workshop forum. 

Here’s a pic of my niece’s latest do. She was so excited. She asked me to take some pictures for “you know that nappy site you go to all the time.” Well alrighty then, presenting my happy nappy niece!

  Here’s the update. This was taken Sunday night 09/30/07.

She beat me. Dang… Sorry, couldn’t resist.   

Comments
10 Responses to “Hair Envy?”
  1. k says:

    nice blog-adorable kid, I LOVE her hair!

  2. 70ssoulchild says:

    Beautiful hair! Thanks for sharing her with us in nappy world.

  3. mikou says:

    I empathize with the fleeting moment of jealousy. We’re all human, so as long as it was a passing thing, I think you’re allowed.

    Your niece’s hair is gorgeous. So healthy looking!

  4. Nikki says:

    Um, I’ve been nappy for somewhere around 3 times as long as you and your hair is twice as long as mine, so I don’t think you need to worry about your hair growth. But I do understand a temporary tinge of hair envy.

  5. natty says:

    ROFL! Very cute! Uh, your niece and the story. 🙂

  6. Yekinae says:

    That’s some major shrinkage. Her hair looks very healthy!

  7. Latrese says:

    Today at work our regional sales manager made a bad comment about my hair to my front desk manager saying my braids did not look good now everyone in the office said my hair was nice and then she made that comment and that made me not like my own natural hair and my hair was braided nice it was in designs braided to the back in conrows now I have to go back to wearing my wig which is good for my ends. So please give me some advice on some nice braid styles to wear that look professional for a front desk receptionist. Because I don’t want to wear wigs in the summer and I want to wear my own hair braided like it is now because I am tired of getting it braided with weave. My natural hair is braided with a cute design going back into cornrows what is unprofessional about that.

  8. nappyme says:

    Latrese…most likely there is nothing wrong with your natural hair. If you regional sales manager is black more than likely she’s projecting her dislike of natural hair or naturally styled hair onto you…and that, my dear, really shouldn’t be your problem. If the women are white, then I’d say that they’re being culturally insensative. Check your dress code and check with HR to see if your hair style is violating some type of company code. Personally, I wouldn’t change a thing, and if they challenged me on it, I’d have to take my case to HR cause your performance…not your hair, if it’s clean and neat in appearance, should NOT be an issue.

    Don’t give in…no matter what you do. Stand firm and good luck!

Leave a Reply

