Flat Twist Criss Cross Bun Tutorial… A Variation on an Old Do!

This is my first time attempting a slide show tutorial. Hope it does a good job picturing and explaining how to create this variation of my favorite do. To stop the turning pages to view at your own pace, simply move your cursor onto the page and click on it to activate the Stop Page feature. Then after that you can continue moving the cursor on and off the picture to control how fast the page turns. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and enjoy!

Comments
10 Responses to “Flat Twist Criss Cross Bun Tutorial… A Variation on an Old Do!”
  1. liberty says:

    this was a very good tutorial. i really want to try this. the slideshow was good b/c you can watch it frame by frame.

    i wonder what this criss cross bun would look like if your hair was flat twisted all the way to the nape.

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Liberty!
    It’s the one thing that I like about this particular hair style is that it’s incredibly versatile. Instead of rolling the top into a bun, I’ve also just pulled it all the way through and then criss-crossed the chair over it. It turned out just as cute if I may say so myself. LOL.

    Good luck trying it!

  3. lilkemet says:

    Is that you in the slide show? If it is your hair looks really nice. I am a natural sista too and I love it. I am sporting a big afro and I am looking for other natural hairstyles. I hope you do not mind me putting your blog on my blogroll. I also am discuss this topic on sistas with natural hair, weaves, perms maybe you would like to check it out.

    http://lilkemet.wordpress.com/

    PS: I hope you had a happy new year.

  4. nappyme says:

    ^^^Yep that’s me in the tutorial. Glad you liked it. And thanks, I did have a happy new year. Hope you did too!

  5. naturallyadiva says:

    thank you so much for this website, you have so much valuable information. I love your hair and all the hairstyles and thank you for instructions as well!

  6. nappyme says:

    ^^^Awe shoot. Thanks!

  7. Yvette says:

    Love your hair. I’m a natural sista without a style. I have an appointment with a new stylist and would love to have my hair styled like yours. Do you use extensions and if so, what kind or is that all you?
    Hope you don’t mind me asking.
    Thanks

  8. nappyme says:

    Hi Yvette,
    Thank you! Nope, no extensions, it’s all mine. And no I don’t mind you asking. I’m flattered that you’d like to copy it. But it’s the reason I love showing off my hair. It shows women that if you’re patient enough and learn how to take care of your own hair, you’ll likely gain the length you desire and you’ll be able to kiss the store bought hair goodbye.

    Good luck on your new do!

  9. Christina says:

    I love your different styles! I’m currently(as in tomorrow) trying to flat twist my hair. I can’t get the hang of it. I know how to Double-strand twist, but i just can’t seem to figure out the flat twists. I’ve drawn pictures to guide me, googled flat twists to find tutorials……What do you suggest?

  10. nappyme says:

    Hi Christina,
    Thank you! Yes indeed learning how to do flat twists does take lots of practice. Here’s a video that might help.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

