Twisted bangs…so they’re soooo cute!

It’s really great when you are just “feeling” your hair; I know cause I certainly am today. This started about two days ago after being in and out of the rain for a couple of days, my hair was getting rather frizzy. Now as endearing as my fuzzy wuzzies were, I decided to touch up my hair and in doing so I came up with the idea to put some three strand twists in the top and give myself some bangs. Well I did one and I didn’t quite like it. Hmmm…what was wrong? I know, they needed some curl. That’s when I put them in a couple of bantu knots. When I took them out the next morning, I had these cute spiral curls. That turned out so cute so I wore my hair like that to work. Ok…they didn’t hold up very well cause it continuted to rain and be really humid all day Friday. Well, last night, Friday evening that is, I decided to do one more three-strand twist. This morning I took them out and wallah, my spiral bang look was cute and complete and that’s when I really started “feeling” my hair.

 What I really like about my them is that the three-strand twist makes twists very tight, compact and rope like, as opposed to thick and fluffy. So after I unwrwapped my bantu knots, which circumvented the shrinkage, they almost took the appearance of dreads. While I’m not a big fan of dreads, I did like this particular aesthetic. In addition, I liked the way my bangs softened my hairline. And, my hair is long enough that once the sprirals loosen a bit, they hang half way down my face. The length frames my face the way I’ve always wanted it to.

Grow hair grow! I’m shooting for sixteen inches by year’s end. Not sure that I’ll make it but that’s my goal.

 

 

 

 

 

Anyhoo, since I’m thinking my hair is toooo cute, I just had to take some pics…especially since I don’t take a lot these days. So I commandered my mom (bad arm and all) to take them for me. She was a pretty good sport about it all — prolly cause I took a whole lot of pics of her too — and got some really good pics. At the moment, I put them back into bantu knots, which look like little horns…lol. If I can get some pics tomorrow, I’ll try to do so before I take them out and then show so pics of what the spirals look like before they’ve had a chance to fall a little bit. In the meantime, here are all the pics we took yesterday, (sorry about the duplicate in this grouping) all inclusive of a couple of good length shots. Just click on one of the thumbnails in the gallery for a larger view.

Everytime I look at these picks I can’t help but admire how nicely my hair is coming along and it makes me smile. Y’all feel me? 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Twisted bangs…so they’re soooo cute!”
  1. ms-gg says:

    Very pretty Nappyme! I have yet to master the three strand twist.

  2. sandra says:

    Wow! this is hot. Now if I could just learn to flat braid I could get .05% there.

  3. nappyme says:

    Thanks ms-gg! Sandra, ha! Is it hot! Well see now you really got me feelin’ not just my hair but ME as well! Woohoo me! Thanks!

  4. cree says:

    i have a question… im 15 and my hair has been natural ever since… i pressed my hair sometime and it was breaking… i stopped. im tired of braids and i want a new look… i was thinking press n Curl but im not sure

  5. nappyme says:

    Hi Cree, welcome to NPP101!
    I have to tell ya that if you stopped pressing your hair because it was breaking, I don’t think you should go back to pressing your hair just cause you want a new look.

    In fact, I don’t advocate heat at all so you’ll never get that recommendation from me. There are plenty of ways to wear your hair that don’t involve heat. Please check out SoulSista’s hair album, you and she are about the same age and she wears her natural hair in all kinds of styles. She’s one of my absolute favorite young people that I’ve run into on hairboards. Here’s the link: http://public.fotki.com/Soulsista934/

    If you have any questions about her styles and hair care, I’m sure she’ll be happy to help.

    Good luck and take care,
    ~Nappyme

  6. Linda says:

    Thx for the great pics of your two-strands. I’m always looking for something different for my hair other than regular individual two-strands. The more styles to choose from, the less likely I’ll return to the …relaxer. 🙂 Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

