I Pressed My Hair…No Lye

If you’ve been following my journey, you’ll know that I don’t advocate the use of heat on one’s hair, and I never recommend its use and if asked, I’ll always tell folks about the potential damage they face if they should decide to apply direct heat to their precious naps. So to that end, if and when anyone ever decides to do it, they’ll at least know enough to make an informed decision. 

Well that’s what I did about a week ago. I made an informed decision and pressed my hair. Why? My primary reason for doing it (and I’ve kinda agonized over this for quite awhile before I finally took the plunge) was so I could go to a beautician and have them cut my lower layer off. And since I wanted a precision cut…something you can’t get around these parts when your hair is in its natural state…I knew I’d have to go in there with fairly straight hair. I’ve tried getting a cut on just nappy/stretched hair before and the end result was not pretty. Over the past several weeks, I’ve tried various methods trying to get a better stretch, but it just leaves my hair hard, brittle and still very kinky. And in that state it’s not conducive to getting a precison cut. So after much thought, I broke out the flat iron, put it on the lowest setting possible and did the deed.  Then I ran a warm pressing comb through it to get the remaining kinks out and the end result four hours later is what you see in this picture. Whew! That was quite a workout, so as you might well imagine, I ain’t gonna get rid of this none too soon.

But the pic above is NOT how it currently looks. That’s because I finally got up the nerve to cut my lower layer off last Tuesday. Please tell me why it was so hard to get rid of my nearly BSL “tail?” It’s been a week and I’m still missing my length. But the trade off is longer, thicker, fuller hair across the back, and I love it.

Now, because it’s not bone straight, my hair is rather big and wild, but I don’t care cause I’ve never had this much hair in my life and certainly NEVER as a permie. It’s funny cause, my big hair had one brother practically losing his mind tryin’ to pick me and MY HAIR up at the Quick Trip gas station the other day. LOL! “I bet your man just loves running his fingers though hair don’t he?” he asked as I was putting ice in my cup for a pop refill.

“He sure does,” I said with a smile, and I just kept it movin…cause truth be told, if my hair had been nappy, I’m sure he’d probably never given me a second look. But today, I had caught his eye and was garnering second and third looks from him for sure.

I have to admit though, as much as I’m enjoying my hair and seeing most of my length, I am most def missing my naps. So, I’ll be washing my hair this weekend. And then, on the 18th, I’m scheduled to get microbraids. I’m really excited cause I haven’t worn them in over three years. My goal with this is to give me a break from my hair for awhile, so I’ll leave them in till the end of December. Hopefully, I’ll have retained a little more than an inch of hair all over. Then I’ll take the last bit of my lower layer off to even it up with the layer from my crown. At that point, one of my biggest hair goals will have been met — and that’s to have all my hair as it hangs down in my twists to be one length. That’ll give me the thickness that I’ve always wanted as my twists hang to my shoulders. And after that, my only other hair goal will be to continue to let my hair grow longer and longer and longer and hopefully, I’ll have BSL hair all over by june of 09!

Ha! Won’t that be a sight to see? Stay tuned!

Comments
7 Responses to “I Pressed My Hair…No Lye”
  1. Mira (Jean41) says:

    Why didn’t you give that man the benefit of a doubt. Yeah…you were looking cute with your long flowing hair but did it ever occur to you that he was attracted to more than your hair?

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Mira…hmmm…has a lot to do with the fact that he gushed over my hair…and not anything else about me. That kinda gave me a clue…

  3. Helen H Jones says:

    I know what you mean, about the tail. So far my tail measures 11.5 inches and the crown and top measures 10 inches. I did not measure the sides. I do not know if I’ll cut the tail, time will tell. But you hair looks great. Three years of cultivation has reaps beautiful results. And you have great density.

  4. stacey says:

    What does BSL mean?

  5. nappyme says:

    Welcome Stacey!
    It means bra strap length…where your bra snaps together in the back.

    ~Nappyme

  6. stacey says:

    Oooooooh. lol Thank you.

    I would love for my hair to get to that length. At the present time its shoulder length, well alittle past my shoulders with twists.

    We’re getting there! 🙂

  7. liberationtheory says:

    i love that as we become more “nappy” we realize over time that our hair doesnt necessarily have to define how we self-identify and can make informed decisions about it. i know that just b/c you wear your hair in a straightened style once in a bright blue moon that you are not a “i must have straight hair to be beautiful and acceptable” type of woman. kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

