Getting rid of my tail…

First let me say that I’m soooo happy that I finally got up the nerve to get rid of my “tail.” Ok that may sound strange, especially if you associated the word “tail” with derriere, but in this case I’m talking about how, if left alone, grows in the back in a kind of round shape.

The pic at top is a good example of what I’m talking about. This is how my hair looked probably a couple of years ago and as you can see, as it would continue to grow, my length near my nape would always hang lower. Getting rid of it gives me a thicker nicer look around the shoulders that I’m truely loving.

My goal has always been to get my length to a place where I could cut that that “tail” off and have a blunt cut

shape so that as my twists would eventually look like a bob hair style as they hand down to my shoulders. (Pictured Left) It’s taken about three years to get there but finally, several weeks ago I felt I had enough length to start wacking off my lower layers. With that done, I managed to get a good pic that I thought I’d share. This is the first time I’ve seen it like this myself and I have to say that I’m really, really happy with the result. Yes, I miss my length, but I’ll get it back and it will have a great shape to it taboot!

Hair stats: Approximately mid-APL
Top/Crown: 14-15 inches
Back and sides (sampled from an area about even with the top of my ears: 12 inches
Nape: 9.5 inches
Goal: On to BSL…Again!

Leave a Reply

