I Love My Nappy Kitchens!

But I really hate my hairline back here. It's shaped like a W. I've tried getting it lined up, but I get horrible hair bumps that itch like crazy!

It’s not often that I show off my nappy kitchens cause most of time my twisted styles hang down in the back so they’re covered. But today, I decided to see if I could be a bit creative with my hair and put it into some kind of bun. I’ve got several hair sticks, but I’ve never been able to do much with them and usually give up before I come up with something I like.

Directions: I have flat twists in the front and double strand twists in the back. I pulled them back into a low ponytail at the nape of my neck and twisted them. Then I took a chopstick in from the bottom and twisted all the hair around it once and then I turned the stick up and stuck it into my hair from the top down.

Now I have NO CLUE if this makes any sense  but I did my best to describe it. 

 

Today, however, I was bound and determined to do the cutest bun ever. Now I don’t know if I actually succeeded, but I really do like what I eventually came up with, so that’s really what matters. Then I showed my mom, and she said she liked it too. But then later she asked, “Why does your hair look like that around the edges?”

I knew exactly what she was talking about so I said, “You mean my little beebees? Well that’s the way it’s supposed to look. I have nappy hair. It’s doing what it’s supposed to do. I like my nappy edges.”

“Oh,” she says.

End of conversation.

No truth be told, some of those beebees do work my last nerve, but not aesthetically. It’s primarily because they turn into knots that I can’t pull apart with out breaking my hair. I really wouldn’t mind them if it weren’t for that. But I didn’t share those details with her because she simply doesn’t like nappy kitchens. I’m sure to her my hair looks undone or unkempt back there. It’s the same reason she doesn’t like my hair in a puff…it simply shows off my napps too much. Now I ain’t crazy ’bout nappy edges in the front cause my edges are soo broken and it ain’t a pretty sight. But in the back, I find my beebees rather endearing. They’re not my shame or my dirty little secret that need to be hidden or tamed.

I’m not sure why but I really love my nappy kitchens. Ha! But the shape of my hairline…that’s a whole ‘nother story. It’s shaped like a W and I really, really hate it. Weird I know. But I do.

Comments
One Response to “I Love My Nappy Kitchens!”
  1. Theresa says:

    what a cute style. I just 2-strand twisted my hair a couple days ago. I’m going to try a variation of this. how do you have it secured? you mentioned a hair stick but I can’t tell if you’ve wrapped your hair around it or are using hair pins. please tell.

    take care and thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

