Hair Play Continued

To do this simple style, simply gather your hair and do a couple of criss-crosses of a french braid and then pull all the hair together and secure with a ponytail holder. Tuck the ponytail into the holder and fan out from side to side. Decorate with your favorite accessory. And wallah! You have your own version of a chignon!

To do this simple style, simply gather your and start to do a french braid. Stop half way down and then gather the remaining loose twists and secure with a ponytail holder. Tuck the end of your twist into the into the ponytail holde and fan out from side to side. Decorate with your favorite accessory. And wallah! You have your own version of a chignon!

Boy-o-boy! It’s been a long time since I’ve really played with my hair like this. When I first became a loose nappy, which was three years ago, I was like a kid in a candy store trying to learn how to care for and style my hair.

Back then I had several hair goals; one of them being to find several styles that I would be comfortable wearing all the time and would be low maintenance taboot. Additionally, it had to be some sort of protective style cause my ultimate goal was to coax my hair to retain length and lots of it, cause I’ve always wanted really, really, really long hair.

After months of experimenting I finally found the. Flat twists in the top and sides tucked under into the bun in the back with two-strand twists hanging down in the back. This do has since become my signature style and over the years, I’ve worn some sort of variation more often than not. When not, I wear an occasional puff or full head twists.

Heres my first donut. It was inspired by Batyah, who did a gorgeous bun and posted it on cNappymeNow.com. Although mine was a quickie effort, I just wanted to see if I could one and if Id wear it out. I think it turned out really cute and so its most definitely a keeper!

Here's my first donut. It was inspired by Batyah, who did a gorgeous bun and posted it on cNappymeNow.com. Although mine was a quickie effort, I just wanted to see if I could one and if I'd wear it out. I think it turned out really cute and so it's most definitely a keeper!

Now, while folks on other hair boards with my texture have long since become frustrated with this and that and given up on doing what’s necessary to retain length and grow really long hair, I have NEVER waivered from my goal. Primarily because with short hair I’ve felt so limited in what I can do with it. I’ve always wanted really long hair and the styling options that comes with kind of  length.

Because I’ve truely mastered protective styling, and I actually prefer my hair that way, as opposed to wearing it loose, my journey has been rather enjoyable. Sure I’ve had my set backs and frustrations but I’ve never regretted my decision to go natural nor my quest to some day have really long hair. And, I think it helps that I’m a quick study so it never took me that long to figure my hair out. It wants me to work with it, it wants moisture, it wants to be heat free AND it want’s to be left alone.

 Well that been easy enough.

 So that’s what I’ve been doing for the past three years. And now that I’ve got some of the length that I’ve wanted, many of the things that I’ve have long desired to do with my hair is becoming increasingly possible. Hence all the hair play that I’ve been engaging in over this past week. However, as much fun as I’m having, I’m about to give it a rest. Although my hair is in twists, all this manipulation can’t be good for it. I think I’ve got some great style options, other than my old signature do that I can draw on from time to time. The best thing about it is my hair at this length and my signature do is proving to be mega, mega versatile.

Nuturing my hair for the past three years to get to this length has really been worth it.So I hope you all enjoyed discovering the possibilities and options as much as I enjoyed showing them.

Leave a Reply

