Herringbone Chignon

 

431521007 Xtj57-S
To create this do, each flat twist is criss crossed one by one on top of each other starting with the one in the very top. Once each twist is incorporated, I grabbed some of the flat twists in the back and started making a french braid. Then I stopped near the nape of my neck and gathered all the ends and secured with a pony tail holder. The slider barrette adds a touch of decoration.

I know I said I was done, but I couldn’t resist doing one more style. This was inspired by seeing a herring bone braid online. That reminded me that I’d been getting a similar look by criss crossing my flat twists in the back but then I didn’t know what to do with them, and I tried pulling them into a ponytail but I’d lose the pattern. So tonight, I decided to incorporate the herring bone into a french braid and pull it all into a ponytail at the nape of my neck. I then tucked the ends back under, securing them with the ponytail holder to create the chignon.  See the caption for more detailed directions. I really love this and will be wearing this as my do for next week.

See the next page for more ways I dressed up this do.
Herringbone Chignon431521017 WTJJE-S 

 431521023 wKSJD-S 

 433849542 DWkD2-L

Comments
6 Responses to “Herringbone Chignon”
  1. ms-gg says:

    Nappyme, this is absolutely beautiful.

  2. ms-gg says:

    I love the pink pearls look! Very pretty

  3. nappyme says:

    Hi ms-gg! Thank you very much!

  4. Shaunita says:

    hi i was trying to do this but i dont understand how you got the flat twists incorporated…did u twist them all together?

    • nappyme says:

      Shaunita, hmmm… No, sorry and I really don’t know how to explain it. I really need to do a pictorial of some sort. And ONE of these days, I’ma get around to it. 😦

  5. Shaunita says:

    ok .thanks

Leave a Reply

