COLOR! I Finally Love It!

Clairols Texture and Tones Cocoa Brown. Im really lovin this color. Finally a shade that Im totally happy with so its definitely a keeper.

Six months after my last attempt to cover my gray with some color, I finally got around to touching up my roots. Only this time, I can’t exactly call it my roots can I when I had more than 2+ inches of new growth.

I waited so long for a couple of reasons. One, I’m lazy. It’s one of the main reasons it took me so long to make up my mind to FINALLY color my hair ealier this year. I simply wasn’t looking forward to the maintenance of touching up my roots on a regular basis. When you color your hair and the color is drastically different than your own, you’ve got some major upkeep on your hands every six weeks or so…just like a dang relaxer. In my case, it’s not so much that I was looking for a drastic change, but I hadn’t a clue about trying to match my natural hair color to something in a bottle. To top that all off, my primary purpose was and is to cover my scattered gray hair.

Both attempts failed miserably.

The first time, I tried, it just didn’t occur to me  to check to see if it was made to specifically to cover gray. It wasn’t so it didn’t. Then to top it all off, for reasons I won’t get into right now, I ened up with a color that I wasn’t particulalry fond of. It was loud and brassy and just not me at all. So six weeks later I tried to correct it. I liked it better but it still wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, and it still didn’t really color my gray. So that leads me to the SECOND reason I didn’t get around to touching up my color on a regular basis…I just didn’t know what color I should try.

So off and on over the past six months, I kept checking various beauty supply stores and other places looking for a color that I thought I’d like. I finally settled on Clairol’s Texture and Tones cocoa brown. What’s interesting about this choice is that it’s rather nondescript looking on the box. Nothing daring about it all. But I figured it would tone down my current color AND cover my gray.

I did the deed last night and I’m sooooooo happy to say I LOVE IT! Despite the fact that it’s a deeper, darker brown, I still have some highlights peeking thought from the older color, which I LUV so it’s not as flat as it looks on the box. This color is definitely a keeper. Now I just hope I can bring myself to touch up my roots on the regular to keep it looking fresh and on point.

Time will tell. In the meantime, I really, really like it. Ah, I think I said that already.

Clairol's Texture and Tones Cocoa Brown

Comments
10 Responses to “COLOR! I Finally Love It!”
  1. Theresa says:

    Hey lady,

    The color looks great. Did you color with the twists in? If so, wow–you are awesome. I’m tempted to color after seeing this. My hair is pretty black with few grays. I’d color to soften the harshness of the black.

  2. nappyme says:

    Hi Theresa,
    Thanks! And yepper, I left my hair in twists to do the color. The last time I immediately, took the twists down, detangled, remoisturized and twisted it right back up. This time I was toooo tired to do that and ended up going to bed. Well, I kinda had hell to pay the next day cause some of my twists had tangled relentlessly. So it took all day Saturday to get my hair back in shape. But it was well worth the effort to take my time detangling, remoisturizing and restyling. Putting minimal stress on my hair prevents a lot of breakage.

  3. Mikou says:

    Best color yet! What I like is that it gives your hair color some “lift” while looking very natural.

  4. naturalsystah says:

    I love the hair colour, I want to finally cover my ever-increasing greys 🙂

  5. dymond25 says:

    Your color looks great. It looks natural. Is this temporary color? I am scheduled for the BC on Jan. 14th. I want to get a Rinse aka Temporary color, but I am worried about dryness and breakage. Is this something I need to worry about?

    Thanks

  6. nappyme says:

    Thanks Mikou, naturalsystah and dymond25! It’s permanent color so dymond25. yes it’s something I need to be concerned about. Once you use permanent color, especially if you go lighter, you’ll need to take extra care to keep your hair moisturized. I’ve only had color in for about six months so I’m no expert at all this, but so far so good and no complaints yet.

    Now if you’re using a rinse, you really shouldn’t have to worry about dryness because rinses and other temporary colors only coat the outside of your hair shaft, whereas permanent color actually lifts the cuticles to deposit color molecules into the cortex. And that’s what can compromise the vitality of the entire hair shaft.

    Now I tried a rinse once, but because I also keep my hair heavily moisturized it didn’t really last very well, nor did it cover my gray so it was total waste. But you may not have the same experience so, I say go for it and good luck!

  7. mwedzi says:

    Nice color! Did you do just the roots or the length of the hair? I think this might be the year I try a black rinse.

  8. nappyme says:

    Hey Mwedzi!
    I colored the entire length and that’s the LAST time I’ll do a full head application. Now that I’ve found a color I like, I can just color my roots from here on out.

    Oh…good luck with your black rinse. 🙂

  9. Maria says:

    I love all the hair accessories! Your hair looks lovely as always.

Leave a Reply

