New Lengths

As you can see, theres not a lot of retention beteen Oct. 06 and March 09. But I do have to take into account that Ive had a couple of significant hair cuts between then and now. But there is progress as you can see that my arm is nearly straight as I attempt to show off my longer lengths.

Ok… this was a really fun discovery, to find out that my length in the top is longer than my forearm. I’ve only ever dreamed of this length and wow… here it is. I am starting to find that I cannot style touch up my full head of twists in one sitting anymore. It just takes waaaay to long to do so. And for the first time ever, I’ve started to rethink this whole length thing. Most of the time I look at my length and wish my hair was twice as long as it is now. But honestly, I’m not sure I could hand that. I’m already at a point to where I fear taking all of my hair down because it would be too overwhelming to deal with. Plus, I fear detangling on a full head because I don’t think I’d have the patience to be gentle with it, and I’d end up doing something foolish, like literally ripping my hair out. Yes that’s a nightmare I would prefer not to experience.

So far though, I have no desire to either hold the line at a certain length OR to cut my hair back to a certain length. I seem to have a routine and a bunch of ways to style my hair while in twists that really works for me.

For now then, I just say “grow hair grow!” But I must admit, it gets a little lonely in nappyland because most aren’t willing to do what it takes to get longer lengths or they get too frustrated once their hair starts to get longer and they chop it off. So I’m looking for some company. If you’re a longer haired nappy (15 plus inches) stopping through here, and you’re not at all bothered by caring for your length, please stop and share how you manage all that hair. I’d love to hear from you. Plueeezzzzeee!

Comments
23 Responses to “New Lengths”
  1. Stacey says:

    Congratulations!

  2. MissLiz says:

    I’ve just come across your site. Very informative. I’ve decided that, after some serious damage to my hair with blowdrying and much hair loss, to undertake your advice, denounce blowdrying for length and engage in protective hairstyling behaviors, such as those you recommend. You seem to be very knowledgeable.
    Yesterday I started with twists, but what a drag. I’ve got to tell you. I’m a busy woman. I can’t see myself doing this every week.
    I’ve been looking for a section on your blog where you describe grooming routines. How often do you untwist to twist again? After all this trouble, am I going to have to do this again next week when I wash? Is there an easier way? Can I shampoo with my twists in? Just asking. Perhaps you could direct me to the right place on your site, or send me to another link on someone else’s site. Thank you. All the best.

  3. Leslie says:

    Thanks for this post! I totally understand your pain! I am not quite to 15 inches but getting close. And I am EXHAUSTED I have to say. Every week I am washing, detangling, deep conditioning and doing some sort of style. It consumes most of my Saturday or Sunday. Since I am a grad student with a busy internship, I realize how much time I could be studying, reading, working, etc when I am busy twisting, braiding, coiling, etc! Soooooo, I have decided to get Afro twists, kinda like kinky twists but not so uniform looking. I know the lady who is going to do them and she is used to being gentle on edges ( the only way I would do this is with someone who cares about preserving edges as much as I do). I have to have a break until I finish school this summer. And I want to start working out more and that always adds another layer of hair-focused energy to the mix. So that’s MY answer to all this hair for now. We’ll see after that. Good luck to you and Miss Liz!

  4. Kcurly says:

    Ha, I don’t think I’m anywhere near 15 inches, but I wanted to say congrats on getting such length. I can see that the longer mine is getting, the more of a handful it’s going to be.

    We’ll see how long I can hang in there 🙂

  5. Skiggle says:

    Bantu Knots
    are extremely
    easy.
    I think they are much quicker
    than twists…

  6. Kim says:

    Has anyone tried the Miss Jessies’ products? If so, what’s the verdict?

  7. Yvette says:

    I like the Miss Jessie’s product but it is rather expensive. I bought the sample pack and like them all. However I am looking for alternatives to expensive products. Going natural is also a savings from the hair dresser visits but if your buying 100 dollars in products a month, where is the savings.

    Depending on your hairs texture and your regime, there may be something less expensive or homemade that would give you what your looking for.

  8. nappiejean says:

    i’m not quite 15 inches yet. Closer to 9 inches.

    Strange thing happened on the way to 9 inches. Around 7 inches I found myself convinced that there was no way I had time to be bothered with 7 inches of natural hair and made up my mind to cut the hair back to a manageable 4 inches.
    For whatever reason I didn’t. I’m glad I didn’t. I love how my 9 inch twists hang.

    Of course, if I had 2 twist my hair myself I could never pull this off. I’m a thin hair nappy, so I don’t have a lot of problem with tangling. I wash my own hair and have a teenager from my church who puts in my micro twists (which lasts four 3 weeks at a time).

  9. Theresa says:

    What a great topic. I actually thought of this a few weeks ago. My hair is between 10-13 inches, top and back are different. It’s never been this long. I’ve started no-pooing in larger sections (8 or 9 versus 4) in the shower, once a month. In between I touch up the front as needed. usually on the full head day, I allocate 4-5 hours in the morning and make sure I’m well rested. On Demand is my best friend on those days. It sounds like a lot of work but it’s so worth it.

  10. charismaallover says:

    I am happy for you. That is an impressive amount of hair.

  11. charismaallover says:

    In all your pictures you have the most beautiful hair. You have such lovely features. You are VERY Gorgeous.

  12. nappyme says:

    Charismaallover how kind of you. Thank you very much!

  13. Lisa says:

    I love your hair! Yes, the longer it gets the longer it takes to pamper it. My way is to simply take my time and allot myself enough time so that I can do my hair. I usually leave it in a protective style and I wash it while it is in twists. It’s work but it’s worth it.

  14. ok um… your hair is AMAZING!!! i’m aiming for double digits (currently hovering around 8.5/9 inches) and i feel you on the whole time-consuming piece… even with my medium-length hair, i find my regimen taking longer, and longer, and longer.

    for the first time since i vowed to ‘grow my hair out against all odds’ i’m rethinking that decision… or at least researching low maintenance styles and regimens for long, nappy hair

  15. C W says:

    Your hair is really beautiful…I’ve been growing mine out since late ’07 and notice that I have to take much more care combing it…Looking forward to updates! : )

  16. S Dean says:

    Yes, I am at your length as we speak. I just parted the front and can stretch it arm’s length. I am natural two year’s this month. I transitioned in twists 2 inch cut twice in that time. Honestly, there is no short cut I’ve never had hair this long. So this is definitely new for me. I have just washed it out of twists,which some have loosened. And I’m in serious stomach upset at this detangling procedure. Thank goodness it’s Saturday. I anticipate at least a two hour venture.

  17. Denise says:

    I feel you girlfriend, have been following you for some time now and your hair is FABULOUS!! Last I checked I had about 18inches and it is sooo much work!!! takes about 4-5 hours to just detangle and do rather large two-stranded twists.. so I guess I really don’t have an answer for you either.

  18. Barb says:

    WOW! Do your thang gf – kinky hair knowledge is our best friend. You will always be a friend in my head. So just glow, groove & grow !

    Many more blessings

  19. Tanya says:

    I LOVE your hair. I am newly transitioning/transitioned to natural… I have always longed for the 2strand twisted hairstyle and with only a year left in my long military career I figured I’d go for it. I am a grad student and it does take long to do every week but I found a girl that flattwists and she is soooo gentle on the ends… I find thos styles lasts for about two weeks or more.
    Just wanted to say I love your styles and I cant wait until my hair is that long where I can wear more styles…

  20. nappyme says:

    Tanya thank you so much and good luck with your transition.

  21. Oletha says:

    Don’t see it as a hassle to have long hair. Be grateful and enjoy it. Don’t worry about the time you spend on it–you’re caring for yourself. You’re worth it and so is everyone with our hair.

Leave a Reply

