My new summer updo…it’s a breeze!

Quick updo step 5 final

Believe it or not, I went on a 4th of July riverboat cruise to watch fireworks. It was misting rain and very, very humid all day. On the cruise my hair was wringing wet to the touch. I got home around midnight and tied it up and took these pics late Sunday evening. My hair looks amazing even after being out in that type of weather all day long the previous day!

I don’t know about y’all, but I’m just not ready for the dog days of summer. The older I get the less I have the patience or tolerance for extreme heat. I prefer temperatures in the lower to mid eighties; anything more just seems to sap my energy.

That said, I really, really, really needed a quick do that I didn’t have to fuss with for a week at a time. That’s what I have with this updo. Fashioned from flat twists in my hair line and two strand twists, I just pull them all up in the back and secure with a butterfly clip. At my temples I made finger twists. They’re sooo cute. I like them because they soften the style up. Also, if they don’t make it through the night (which they don’t sometimes) all I have to do is wet them, pull them loose, apply some moisturizer and make new coils. Takes just a couple of minutes and I’m good to go.

If I tie my head up every night, my hair usually holds up for seven days — from Sunday to Sunday. After one week, I assess my hair and refresh as necessary which includes taking down individual twists, finger detangling, deshedding, remoisturizing and retwisting. In week two, I wash my hair, and take down all my twists one at a time to detangle, deshed, moisturize and retwist, and I’m good to go with a clean scalp and hair for another two weeks.

Here’s what it looks like from all angles.  

Quick Updo side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

quick updo top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

quick updo finger coil

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick Updo Picture Tutorial 

Step 1: Pull all your twists to the back of your head

Step 1: Pull all your twists to the back of your head

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Wrap your thumb and index finger around your gathered twists to help your "fold" them upward.

Step 2: Wrap your thumb and index finger around your gathered twists to help your "fold" them upward.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3: I do this in a three way mirror so I can see what I'm doing. If you don't have a three-way, you'll have to feel what you're doing and then adjust later.

Step 3: I do this in a three way mirror so I can see what I'm doing. If you don't have a three-way, you'll have to feel what you're doing and then adjust later.

Get your hand held mirror and see if it's actually positioned the way you want it. If not, reposition.

Step 4: Get your hand held mirror and see if it's actually positioned the way you want it. If not, reposition.

Let it go, and let your twists fall where they may or gently rearrange them. The ends will eventually shrink up and lay atop and around the clip.

Step 5: Let it go, and let your twists fall where they may or gently rearrange them. The ends will eventually shrink up and lay atop and around the clip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I’m looking at the nape of my neck, I can see I’m going to have to stop a really bad habit of picking at my hair back there. I get those stupid single strand knots, and lately I’ve been picking back there and literally breaking them off. Well apparently that’s not really a good idea as I’m making my kitchens really ratty looking.  Note to self: “Stop that!”

Now, if you don’t want to disturb your hair at all for the next week, use a neutral color clip so that it will blend with your hair. If you don’t mind trying to match them with your outfits everyday then go ahead and change them out. Personally, I do either or. Just depends. But the less you handle your twists during the week, the better they hold up. Also know that this do is a length buster. In other words, don’t expect to get any hang time cause it eats length like crazy. But trust me when I say, for me, it’s not about showing off my length right now, which is close to bra strap length (BSL), I just need quick, neat, and cute on a daily basis and my new summer updo definitely fulfills all three of the requirements to a tee.

Soooo how are you coping with this heat? Are you changing it up or sticking to a single, simple style to get you through the summer?

Comments
5 Responses to “My new summer updo…it’s a breeze!”
  1. NappyBoo says:

    This hairstyle is always cute on you. I’ve been wearing my hair in double strand twists, about 20 of them, for about six months. My husband has started grumbling, so I think I better try something different. I’m almost middle aged and don’t have the patience to do the elaborate styles, but this one you’re wearing doesn’t look too hard to do. Anyway, it’s time!

    • nappyme says:

      Thanks!
      Lol @ the hubby grumbling for you to switch your style up. Oh girl and I feel you on the elaborate hair style thing. But that’s why the two-strand flat twist base is perfect. It lets you switch up and wear your hair sooo many different ways. Give it a try. I hope you like it. If you do, stop back by and let me know how it turns out.

      Take care,
      ~Nappyme

  2. I love the twists! I am trying to embrace styling more vs wearing my hair out. It’s too big and it’s too hot here in NC to have all that hair swaying in the wind (by wind I mean humid heat-filled gusts of hotness). It also leads to more single-strand knots (which make me crazy!) and tangled hair. I love your styles and I need to try this one!

    • nappyme says:

      Naturally Leslie thank you! I keep tryna tell y’all that wearing twists and THEN styling them is the way to go. Once you get a good length, the sky’s the limit in terms of what you can do with your hair.

      I hope you do try this and let me know how it turns out.

      Take care,
      ~Nappyme

  3. Jay says:

    I really likesesest this. Will be doing something similar.

Leave a Reply

