Tryin it the Natural Way

This is my friend. Ill just call her TryitNatural. She has lovely coal black hair with just a little scattered gray. I angled her flat twists back to just behind her ears. Then I gathered all the hair into a ponytail and twisted the loose hair. I strategically placed several latch hooked kinky strands near the base of the ponytail for volume and then braided all of the hair together and tucked the ends under. This is the finished do. She can dress it up with different types of barrettes as she pleases.

This is my friend. I'll just call her "TryinitNatural." She has lovely coal black hair with just a little scattered gray. I angled her flat twists back to just behind her ears. Then I gathered all the hair into a ponytail and twisted the loose hair. I strategically placed several latch hooked kinky strands near the base of the ponytail for volume and then braided all of the hair together and tucked the ends under. This is the finished do. She can dress it up with different types of barrettes as she pleases.

About six weeks ago, a friend of mine, (I’ll just call her “Tryinit Natural“) asked me to do her hair because she couldn’t get an appointment with her beautician. Not a problem. She’s been wearing a latch hook style for quite awhile and also relying on sew-ins and the flat iron for several years as well. Unfortunately, these styling methods have been taking quite a toll on her hair in the form of relentless breakage that fuels her dependence on keeping her hair covered up. On a few occasions, I’ve tried to get her interested in ditching the weaves, but she always seemed to rebuff my suggestions so I just let it go. Well this time around, the plan was to redo the latch hook, but I suggested we just to an elegant cornrow and donut style and she agreed.

Three weeks later, this past weekend, she asked me to do her hair again. Not a problem. This time, however, I had a suggestion. I offered to be her personal hair dresser so that she can stop being dependent on weave hair and the hot comb. I told her that I could stop that cycle and get her hair to thrive and retain length. She said she’d actually suggested I take care of her hair before, and when I didn’t respond she just assumed I didn’t want to. I think I misunderstood. Well we’re finally on the same page thank goodness. I’m really excited because I get to apply what I know about natural hair and really help her out at the same time. Plus, I’ll get to try a lot of different styles on her too. If we stick to this and she’s patient, I have no doubt that next year this time, she’ll be looking at a full head of gorgeous, healthy natural hair.

Tryin’ it Natural is mos def a cNapp. Her hair is very similar to mine, very coarse and very dry. To moisturize her hair, I used my trusty Proline light cream moisturizer. It softened her hair up immediately. She wanted something simple and quick. So I showed her a style in my hair album and she agreed to let me do it.

She and I both agreed that it turned out quite lovely!

Here are more pics. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Tryin it the Natural Way”
  1. Dee says:

    Love it! I’m excited for her knowing that she has placed her head and hair in the hands of someone who, most definitely, will allow her to achieve thriving natural hair.

  2. afrikurl says:

    Her hair is absolutely gorgeous. It looks elegant. Please, teach her how to do it for herself and show her the sites where she can find info so that tryinit can be as obsessed as we are!

  3. Lori says:

    Gosh, if only I had your skills or a friend, like you. (-: Her hair looks great.

  4. Carlotta says:

    Her hair looks very nice like that. I like how it’s pinned up with the hair pretty. Do you get the proline moisturizer from the beauty supply store or online?
    ~Tootles!

    • nappyme says:

      Thanks Carlotta. You can find the moisturizer online at Walgreens.com. But you can also find it at Walmart for $2.09, Walgreens for $2.59, BSSs for $3. I get mine at Dollar Tree or Dollar General (can’t remember which) for $2.

  5. sandra says:

    This looks so good…one year later and I’ve still not learned how to do decent flat twists…

  6. sundayzchild says:

    You did a good job. Your friend’s hair looks beautiful.

  7. Tashina says:

    Oh, you and your accessories, LOL. I like it. It turned out beautifully. Please showcase more of Tryinitnatural as you style her hair. We’d (I’m sure it’s more than I) love to see the progress.

    I seriously love that you just used some Proline. I know that’s your favorite. I think I will pick some up when I go to the BSS tomorrow.

  8. AuNappturale says:

    GREAT job, NM! Your friend is so super lucky. Those styles are too cute. You can’t even tell that you added any hair! I think you’ve missed your calling in the hair business. I know you’ve done others’ hair in the past, so maybe not. Anyway, I bet you could make megabucks taking care of natural hair. Sigh, I wish you lived in neck of the woods. I’d trust you to do my hair. :o)

  9. AuNappturale says:

    ETA: …and you KNOW I don’t let anyone in my hair but my mama on occasion.

    • nappyme says:

      Too funny. Yeah, I think I would really enjoy being a beautician that takes care of natural hair. I just redid her hair from scratch yesterday evening, and it took about two hours. Personally, I think her twisted ponytail is long and cute enough without adding any hair, but she wants more length and volume.

      Understandable I guess.

  10. Una says:

    Your friend’s hair is lovely. Please don’t forget to remind her about eating well for natural hair.
    Also I sound this blog called I’m not lye-ing. Google her. She makes some really cool hair accessories. Check her out.
    And don’t forget to celebrate milestone like growth and thickness. Hair of all stripes is frustrating. Working toward goals really helped me stay focused when my hair became overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

