Loose Hair, don’t care…

Ok… I lie.

I rarely take my hair out of twists. Not even to wash it or color it. But my hair had been up in the same set of twists for…wow it’s been so long I really can’t remember. Maybe early spring. So I’ve been really, really wanting to but dreading taking it down. So I finally did this past Friday night. Loose hair for me is such an ordeal. I started taking it down around six p.m. and by 11 o’clock or so I finally had it detangled (using a comb and a brush — something else I rarely do) and styled into some big fat twists. But since I so rarely take my hair all the way down, I first decided to do a little photo shoot, just for memory’s sake cause quite frankly, I have no clue when it will be loose again.

Hmmm, I just realized that I’ve never even seen my loose hair with color on it. Youser, it’s brighter than I thought.

Hmmm… Contemplating wearing a puff… But nah!

But, dang, it sure would be cute!

Comments
14 Responses to “Loose Hair, don’t care…”
  1. mixie says:

    Your hair looks fantastic! Great colour.

  2. Sharita says:

    You hair is beautiful!! I am doing a blog about my hair too!!

  3. Sharita says:

    Please visit my blog about unlocking my dreadlocks!!! Be Blessed!

  4. Mma says:

    Wow! Beautiful! But how do you keep your twists in for soo long without them getting messy?

    • nappyme says:

      Thank you! After I wash my hair, I take my twists down one-by-one, detangle with my fingers to get out shed hair, remoisturize and retwist. Then between washings, I retwist and remoisturize as necessary. I’ve done this for about a year now and this seems to work for almost six months at a time before I just need to take it all down, brush my hair really well, wash it and start all over again.

  5. design diva says:

    I love your website. will start visiting on a regular basis. I have been chemical free for about 3 1/2 years. Im still struggling with the hair care routine and various styles I can wear.

  6. MystiOne says:

    Wow! Your hair looks sooooo soft and healthy! I am struggling with my c-napps and breakage. After well over a year natural, I still haven’t found a regimen that works and encourages growth. But, I’ll keep on trying and I’ll keep on envying your beautiful crown!

  7. S Dean says:

    Your color is absolutely gorgeous! I did henna all summer but now I dyed it black. A latina black and I love it. My hair is about your length now, so I can wear buns,twisted buns and the like. The twists were just killing my arms. Besides they never last as long as yours does…

    • nappyme says:

      Thank you! Yeah, I was doing a flat twist the other day and it was really killing my arms. I had to ditch my two strand twists though in favor of a head full of flat twists just so my scalp could get some air.

  8. UrApromise says:

    Your hair is beautiful & so are you! This is the best website “bar none” on natural hair. I’m so glad I found it. I’m 4 mos into transition because I want to serve in the Peace Corps and I am not about to pack 2 years of relaxer! I thank the good Lord he led me in the decision to go natural. Its work but this is what I got when the Lord was giving out hair types on Oct 4, 1975! I have to work it out.

    • nappyme says:

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like it and find it informative. Good luck on your transition and good luck in the Peace Corp. God bless and take care,

      ~Nappyme

  9. criss says:

    Love it, of course. And that color looks great on you. Is that a permanent color? I’m wondering how that’s working for you. I dyed my hair, but it made my hair so brittle!

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Criss,
      Glad you like the color. Yes it’s permanent that is specifically for covering gray hair. It’s Clairol’s Texture and Tones Cocoa Brown.

      I keep my hair moisturized withProline Lite Creme Moisturizer. Very important when you’re natural and have color treated hair and even more important when you’ve gone lighter than your own shade.

Leave a Reply

