Twistout Bangs2

This pic shows a three-strand twist and what a three-strand looks like untwisted.

This pic shows a three-strand twist and what a three-strand looks like untwisted.

I spent, oh like two-three hours doing my hair last night. And NOT into another full head of two-strand twists with flat twists along my hair line, which has pretty much become my signature style over the past year. As much as I love this style, I came to the realization that it wasn’t allowing my scalp to breathe. I’m currently at that time in my life where I am now experiencing my own “personal summers” and during these moments, I get so hot. I finally realized that in all this heat and humidity my hair, as styled, was trapping all my body heat in and not allowing me to cool down. This in turn has been making me quite miserable to say the least. A couple of weeks ago, I was sitting on the porch talking with my mom, and I started having a hot flash and literally felt as if I could not breathe and might pass out. I had to cut my conversation short really quick and duck into the house where it was air conditioned.

Personal summers really suck!

I finally realized that my head full of twists had to go. I mos def needed a style that would allow my scalp to get some air. So, this is what I came up with. A couple of  three-strand twists in top with the rest flat twisted back and up into a ponytail. I can wear it high, low or with a butterfly clip. I can leave the three-strands twisted or twist them out. As I said in yesterday’s post, I used a very strong holding gel to get this kind of definition that I can’t get with my regular moisturizer. On the rest of my hair I did use my regular proline moisturizer though. But if I had used the proline on hair intended for a twistout, it would come out really frizzy (see the previous post, and it would have practically no definition. Plus the little definition it would have wouldn’t last but a quick minute.

But with this gel, this twistout will last until I wash it out.

I’ve actually already worn this to work, but I was kinda unhappy with the frizzy base of the first twist. So tonight, before I took these pics, I rewetted my hair and retwisted it back up, making the base of the twist tighter to hopefully get it to be smoother-looking at the the roots. Problem is, I have a patch of hair right at the front that is very short and it’s hard to grasp up into the twist. But I think I got it this time, so I’ve got my fingers crossed that it’s going to turn out exactly the way I want it to in the morning.

three-strand twist bangs2

Had to rewet this front twist and smooth it out so that it would hang completely straight. If it's not straight when it dries, the resulting twistout will look crazy. Mission accomplished, but I didn't take a new pic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll post a new pic of both twists complete out tomorrow.

As I look at the back, I'm not real fond of the "onion-head" visual that this gives. But oh well, I'll get over it.

As I look at the back, I'm not real fond of the "onion-head" visual that this gives. But oh well, I'll get over it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hey, I’m getting really good at twisting up. Not to shabby if I might say so myself! I’m hoping this do will last a couple of weeks.

Comments
6 Responses to “Twistout Bangs2”
  1. Dee says:

    This is gorgeous! You’re right. You’re twisting skills have become excellent. Question: Which gel did you use for hold?

    • nappyme says:

      Thank you! I used Aussie Instant Freeze Twisting Gel. I really like it because it holds really well and absolutely does not flake. Washes out really easily too.

  2. CallaLily says:

    This is so cute. I just absolutely LOVE your hair!

    • nappyme says:

      Oh thank you sooooo much. When I took these pics, I really like the front, but then I think I’m not so sure about showing so much scalp with all the parts. It’s one of the reasons I don’t like cornrows. But this do is definitely a keeper and it ain’t comin’ down no time soon!

  3. nettyboop says:

    I wish I knew about these sites before I chemically processed my daughter’s hair. You make natural hair very appealing. I have a question that is open to all. I’ve read about hair clays such as sahara clay. The claim is that it is a natural conditioner and removes impurities from the hair and skin better than any shampoo. However, it also works as a mild relaxer. Has anyone used this product on their skin or hair and what do you think about it?

  4. nappyme says:

    Hi Nettyboop!
    Well it’s not too late to take your daughter’s back to its natural state. Hair grows on average of 6 inches a year. So if you really take care of it, she could have a head full of beautiful, virgin naps in two years.

    If you need transition advice, try nappturality.com and check out the transitioner’s forum. Also Motowngirl.com can get you started as well.

    As far as clay goes, I found a post on my hairboard, cNappymeNow.com, which caters to classically nappy/kinky hair with no curl pattern, wave pattern or coil pattern. One of my members, Iamnotmyhair, had this to say about her experience with bakka natural-laxer

    imnotmyha1r wrote:
    when i first became nappy I used a product that is misnamed called Natrual-laxar. It is not a relaxer at all. It’s a clay that dates back to like the Pharaoh’s and stuff.

    http://www.treasuredlocks.com/natur…mical-free.html

    It made my hair really soft and easy to detangle.

    Here’s another post by the same lady:

    http://public.fotki.com/imnotmyha1r…beauty-natural/

    It’s not meant to be a relaxer (yet it has -laxer in the title) or a texturizer or anything. There are no before or after photos because the change is in the way your hair feels, not how it looks. It’s softer and much easier to detangle. My friend who introduced me to it said to think of it as a really DEEP conditioner.

    You wash you hair and put it on for like an hour (with a heating cap) or for like 4 hrs if you don’t have the heating cap. When you take it off, your hair is much softer and easy to comb. I actually went through my hair with a fine toothed comb. The effects wear off in 4 to 6 weeks.

    With regard to rassoul clay, most member report soft and easy to detangle hair. No relaxer effects at all.

    Hope this helps,
    ~Nappyme

Leave a Reply

