Yes Nappy Me, Beyond BSL

IMG_1172-1.jpg picture by NappymeDoes indeed exist for you. And here’s proof!

Now I was pretty melancholy about this last October when I wondered whether or not I could get my hair beyond BSL. That was just four short months ago and I vowed to not focus on length and just try to get through the winter months without a major set back.

Well, as usual, I’ve got issues, but by and large I guess this box braid challenge has really been a great thing for my hair. Well to stave off the midwinter blues, I’ve decided to go get my hair pampered and most likely cut about an inch (maybe less) to revitalize my tresses. But before that happens, I thought it would be a good idea to take some pics and document my length.

So that’s what I did tonight. I took down several of my braids took some length pics. And what I discovered made my jaw just drop. It seems that from October 20 (the day before my birthday) and today, I’ve had some hell fire growth and retention.

Back in October, my hair was just above my bra strap and tonight, my hair is just a tad bit below my bra strap, which is 2 1/2 inches thick.  Honestly, I thought I’d never see the day.

Clevage length? Always another goal that I wanted to reach...and oops...there it is!

I always thought that if and when my hair reached this length that I would cut my lower layer back up to the top of BSL so that my hair could be nice and thick. But as I look at this picture on the left, I’m not sure that I want to erase all of the progress that I’ve made. I mean…if it’s NOT damaged then why cut it?

cleavage length anybody? Yet another mile stone reached.

FrontlengthNov232009.jpg image by Nappyme

Guess what I’ma do is have my beautician assess the condition of my hair, and then I’ll make my decision about how much to cut cause I’m not sure that I’m willing to give up that much length (if it’s not damaged) since I’m going to continue to wear braids for several more months anyway.

Well for now, that’s my plan, and I’m sticking to it!

Comments
9 Responses to “Yes Nappy Me, Beyond BSL”
  1. Stacey says:

    Congratulations!! I wish I had that much growth to report in four months!

  2. tazz says:

    Are you sure you want to cut it now?

  3. tazz says:

    I bought an ebook called AWESOME HAIR
    A GUIDE TO GROWING BLACK HAIR
    LONG
    By Karen Golston

    it is very informative

  4. CoCo says:

    Congratulations! =)

  5. Dwana says:

    lol @ cleavage length anybody? Yet another mile stone reached. I just can’t with you!!!

    Congratulations, Diva! I’m trying to reach APL. Between my laziness & one of the coldest winter in years, I just don’t know.

    • nappyme says:

      Hahahaha! Thanks. I hear ya on the cold. I’m so glad my box braids are working out cause this winter they’ve been an absolute Godsend. I thought I would be kinda hard to keep them in for months on end but for real, I have noooooo desire to be bothered with my hair right now so keeping my hair braided and protected from the cold is just the think my hair needed. So much so, I might make winter braids a regular seasonal staple. From late November to Spring. Sounds good to me!

  6. Nadine says:

    nappyme:

    What do you think about hair dyes? I would like to dye my natural hair jet black. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

