My Box Braids are Back!

Well after a 10 day hiatus, I’m back in box braids. I kept my press n curl as long as I could but it was starting to look bad. I had sweated out my sides while sleeping and by Sunday evening they were starting to look matted. I also had sweated out my roots. When my hair is like this, kinky roots and straight hair, although it’s pressed, it’s like dealing with a relaxer that needs a touch up.

The old me would have just whipped out my pressing comb and touched my hair right up. Not healthy…right? Well the new me said forget it. It is what it is. So when I could no longer stand the two textures, I knew it was time. So last night, I whipped out my little spray bottle, filled it with water. Got out my moisturizer and put my hair back in box braids.

It took four painstaking hours, but by midnight, think I started around 8 p.m., it was a done deal.

But I think they’re too small. I’m not sure how many I have, but I should have stuck with 21 plaits. I’ll never want to touch these up. So the next time I get a chance, I’m going to make these bigger. No matter how many I have though, I’m pretty committed to sticking out the six-month box braid challenge on NP.

That means I’ll have these box braids til June 1, and I’m really hoping that this will be the key to me retaining HEALTY length this time around.

Wish me luck!

Comments
6 Responses to “My Box Braids are Back!”
  1. Millie-Pat says:

    If you want your hair to grow healthy, then it will require stopping the permanent hair color routine. Once color has damaged your hair, the only solution is to cut off the damaged part. Coloring the whole head, attempting to get that perfect tone damages the ends and eventually they break and continue breaking. If you insist on color why not select a less toxic product or a plant based color.

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Millie Pat,
      I agree. Once I found the shade that I liked, I was able to stop putting color on my entire head and have only been coloring the roots for the last several applications. However the damage I fear was already done and in the making and it finally caught up to me as I pointed out in one of my last posts.

      I’ll continue to color but I’m not sure with what just yet. I’ll have to do some research however, I’m at the moment I’m not really all that pressed about it. Quite frankly, I’m not in the mood.

      At the moment, I’m just happy to have my hair cut successfully, have my layers gone, still have good length and have my box braids back in.

      So at the moment it doesn’t get better than this. LOL.

  2. PR says:

    How do you keep your hair moisturized while they are in braids for a while? I noticed your use pro-line comb through, but do you also use a spray? When I braid my hair I braid with a butter, but I want to leave in my braids for more than a week, and I don’t know how to keep the style, while keeping my hair soft at the same time. If I add a butter or a cream to my hair while in braids they get fuzzy within a week

    • nappyme says:

      PR welcome to NPP101,
      I’ve been washing my hair in the shower quite regularly because of a scalp condition I’m trying to rid myself of. My medicated shampoo leaves my hair and scalp horribly dry. So I’ve been greasing my scalp (ewe) with a medicated product. Then while my braids are still wet, I squease my moisturizer into the palm of my hand and then squeeze them into my braids.

      That’s been working out fine. You might try something like that.

      Good luck!
      ~Nappyme

  3. ajargon says:

    YOU have inspired me to do a mini chop. I colored my hair 3 different shades of red in the last yr to get the right color, and my ends are raggedy. I was hoping to do a reveal, since I am so much closer to bsl, but hey. I guess I can take pics then cut. Well in the long run my hair will soooo thank me for this! Thanks for all your encouragement!

    • nappyme says:

      Yay ajargon go for it. Then do your best to retain length this time around and hopefully, we can both reach bsl with HEALTHY hair.

      Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

