Exfoliating Scalp Scrub…

I gotta try this. Ini as in Roshini…as in Glamazini.net recently posted about a homemade exfoliating scalp scrub that she recently did that I just gotta try. It was made of brown & white sugar, honey, olive oil and rose castile soap . She did it in combination with a home-made pre poo concoction that consisted of Pantene Moisture Renewal, honey and olive oil. When she was finished, her hair looked so soft and so luscious and so moisturized that I just wanted reach right out and play in her hair!

But let me back up a little. Let me ‘splain why this post is such a gem to me. You see, this winter, I’ve been horribly obsessed with exfoliating and moisturizing my body. Specifically? My feet and most recently my face.

Winters are horribly hard on my feet. If I don’t stay on top of them, my feet turn into a yucky rusty, crusty mess. So I’m always looking for foot soak, scrub and moisturizing products that smell good and work well. I haven’t any specific brand loyalty, and I’m cheap. But that doesn’t mean I havent found some good products and some great buys.

Right now, I’m really enjoying my AVON products. Their Foot Works line is the bomb…especially their vanilla and brown sugar foot care line, which consists of a Calming Foot Soak, Smoothing Foot Scrub and Moisturizing Foot Cream. Besides Avon, I also love Body Shop products. Every time they have a sale on their body butters I’m there. Right now a 3.5 oz size their Hemp Foot Protector is marked down from $18 to $10. That’s a great buy cause their body butters seem to NEVER go on sale.

Now about my face. My skin is really weird. My normal routine, which isn’t saying much, was leaving the surface of my skin dry and peeling, but underneath, my pores are an oil factory. So I’d have an incredibly oily face, but with a dry, cracked top layer. I could literally take a pair of tweezers and peel the dead skin off. I looked at my skin one day and I was like, “Dag, my skin just looks gray, tired and worn and somethings gotta give.

Apparently, I’ve been soooo obsessed with my hair and my feet that I just totally neglected my face. But then again, I’ve never had to pay THAT much attention to my face. A black head here…a pimple there. Eh… I mean big deal.

But this winter my face just had other plans and so I had to take action. So back to the Bodyshop I go a looking for facial cleansers, exfoliators and moisturizers…oh my!

Right now, I’m totally hooked on their Vitamin C Micro Refiner exfoliator and the Seaweed Matifying Day Cream moisturizer. I have a sample of some type of cleanser but I haven’t used it yet so the jury is till out on that one. The micro refiner, for me, is exactly what I was looking for, and I could tell the difference after just one use. It has a lot of those little exfoliating beads and after a couple of uses, all those dead, dry flakey skins cells were totally gone. Now I absolutely LOVE the way my face looks and feels…it’s great.

The matifying day cream is also a wonderful find for me. Because my skin is already so oily, I needed a moisturizer that didn’t have oil in it. This stuff is great because it does exactly what I need it to do and doesn’t leave my face shiny either.

While I think the Bodyshop products are expensive they’ve got a great sale going on now that I’m have to take advantage of by this Saturday. There’s a buy two get one free offer on all of their skin care products. At least I’ll be able to get a cleanser for free.

Now what’s this got to do with exfoliating my scalp? Well, if y’all read my previous post, then you know that I’m having a horrible time with some type of dandruff build up on my scalp. It’s pretty gosh dang disgusting so I’m trying to get rid of it with some Nizoral medicated shampoo. Hopefully that will work, but that process is more like drudgery…right? Wash for five days…jump through extra hoops to keep my hair moisturized and hope for the best. If you don’t know what I’m talking about read my previous post. Promise it will be informative and maybe even a tad bit entertaining.

In comparison, whipping up some stuff from scratch with the hopes of getting the results that Ini did…that sounds like a lot of fun. I mean, who wouldn’t want buttery soft moisturized hair along with a gorgeous braidout that lasts all day taboot? Now that’s what I’m talkin’ bout and that’s why these homemade hair recipes that she was gracious enough to demonstrate are definitely worth trying out.

Not sure when I’m going to try this though. My hair is currently constrained in a set of box braids that took me four hours to put in so they’re not coming down for at least a month. Most likely when I can get in to see Kessa for my color touch up some time in early April. I’m going to make a batch of this stuff up and take it with me and have her try it out on my hair.  Afterward, I’ll let her put my hair in some big juicy plaits and see what happens. Don’t know how it will turn out, but it’ll be fun trying that’s for sure.

Comments
6 Responses to “Exfoliating Scalp Scrub…”
  1. Millie-Pat says:

    This is another two cents worth of advice, but it worked for me, so I’ll pass it on. I had the worst dandruff, it combed off and looked like corn flakes. Not one shampoo helped me more than two months. Fifteen years ago I began to change my diet, not for my hair but to improve my health. Surprise the dandruff went from severe to very mild.

    I decreased sugar soda pops, added cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, eliminated Crisco and other corn oils, ate very few bakery sweets, cut out processed lunch meat and cheeses, rarely ate fast food sandwiches and then went totally organic on all food. When I eat meat, it is buffalo or atlantic wild salmon or sardines. It cost more but meat without growth hormones and chemicals tastes better and is better for the body.

    I eat a lot of fresh organic food, grapes, oranges, bananas, blueberries and tons of dark green vegetables.

    Now I had horrible dandruff with perms , body waves, twists, braids, corn rows, it did not matter the style, the dandruff was always there, until I began eating for health instead of appetite.

  2. samantha says:

    Thanks for the advice. I like how you share all of

    your findings with your readers.

  3. ajargon says:

    I love scalp scrubs. I alternate; baking soda and condish applied with a soft bristle tooth brush, and the sugar scrub similar to what you had posted applied with the fingers. The sugar scrub is a GREAT all over body exfoliator and I love it! Both leave my hair feeling so light and cotton candy soft! EVERYONE needs to try it at least one time! 🙂

  4. nothappynappy says:

    l’m new to the site. l’m loving the great advice and comments.

  5. nothappynappy says:

    l’m going to travel to a country that doesn’t have nappyheaded folks. I’ll be away for 6 weeks. how can I care for my natural nappy hair? i don’t want to have to wear a wig; won’t be able to press my hair; don’t know how to do twisties. if i get braids with extensions, i’m not good at doing touchups. even if i learn how to do the touchups, they’ll look crappy. Hairstyling is not my forte. I’m horrible at it. Please advise me on a simple way to take care of my hair and choose an attractive manageable and easy hair style for this 59 year old Black woman. HELP please.

Leave a Reply

