Caring for My Box Braids

Charting New Territory

Well tonight I really wanted to wash my hair. Not that it felt or looked dirty. It just seemed to feel and look dry and lifeless. But how to revitalize it without having to jump through a whole lot of hoops?  

Then I had an aha moment.  I got my small spray bottle and put a little Nizoral shampoo in it and filled it with very hot water. I spritzed my shampoo all over my scalp, let it sit for a few minutes so it could really soak in. After that, I messaged my scalp really well and rinsed.Then I rinsed my spray bottle out and squeezed some of my Pro Line Lite Creme Moisturizer in it and filled it up with hot water. I shook it up til it dissolved and then saturated my hair with it. I let it dry and saturated my hair with my diluted moisturizer again.

Once my hair air dried a bit, I greased my scalp again and tied it up with a scarf.  A couple hours later, I took it off to run a quick errand. When I looked in the mirror, my hair looked good as new.

 Mission accomplished!

Comments
6 Responses to “Caring for My Box Braids”
  1. Joyce says:

    As always, thanks for the info on how to freshen up our hair. I have tried doing it with a little moisturizer but that was always too thick.
    I have a question.
    Is there an easy way to touch up the gray roots without coloring the entire head?
    Thanks for all your help over the years.

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Joyce,
      You’re welcome! With regard to coloring your roots, put your hair into large twists and squeeze the color into the base of your twists and parts. Then follow the directions for timing and everthing else. I’ve been doing this for a couple of years now and it works great.

      Take care and good luck,
      ~Nappyme

  2. Sandra says:

    I know this isnt realted to the blog but I feel that you can inform and help me on this topic.
    I am natural head. But I dont think Im natural sista. I’ve kept hair natural for the past year in braids because my hair
    is strong when its natural. BUT I LOVE STRAIGHT HAIR. I dont really seem to like the natural hairstyle on me I ve tried a few but I dont think its me, not that theres anything wrong with it, but I prefer the straighter styles.sooo..

    —>I plan to press my hair 1x every two weeks with the mizani wax, but only after I shampoo, condition, and deeep condition!
    to keep my hair straight this way. Wash every two weeks- on sundays- and then back to straight.
    Whats your opinon on my plan? Will I get heat damage? is pressingtwice a month tooo much?
    2x wash
    2x deep
    2x press
    PLEASE GIVE ME OPINON. I would GREATLY APPRECIATE it.
    God Bless,

  3. Carolyn says:

    I do box braids on both of my daughters hair they are 5 and 7 years old. Their is sand on the playground at my youngest daughter school. As most kids her age she thinks its funny to lay in the sand and make sand angels. Any way I normally wash her hair every 2/3 weeks depending on how dirty it gets. However when she comes home with sand in her hair, I cowash her hair. Her box braids are small it probably is 30-40 braids and her hair is midback. Today I used suave coconut conditioner and BH Moisture Maniac. I towel dried. I put on GF sleek & shine leave-in cond. Then I used the blow dryer to dry her scalp and hair. I put on my shea mix on her scalp and braids then I put my oil mix on the ends. I make sure her hair mostly dry especially her scalp. Then i put her bonnet and since it does not stay in place I grab all the braids to a pony tail with the bonnet covering them and then put a hair band around it. I stays in place all night. This helps for the hair to lie down. She shakes it in the morning and the braids look good as new.

  4. nyemb says:

    Great,
    I’ll definetely try this.

Leave a Reply

