It’s the cutest!

Ha, ha! I think this is one my bestest most inexpensive finds EVAH!

Y’all believe it or not, I’m still sick. But I went back to work Monday under the assumption that I was no longer contagious after nearly two rounds of antibiotics and two rounds of steroids. Even with all of that in my system, I’m still full of congestion that makes it hard to breath and causes me to cough uncontrollably. And I still have a low grade fever.

But today, I feel a little better. When I cough, my chest actually feels clear of the yucky stuff if only for a few minutes. But that’s better than the constant coughing that seemed to pull nothing up yet leaves me feeling utterly and totally exhausted and like someone threw me under a bus. So dispite alla that, me thinks I’m on the mend. Maybe those stupid steriods are finally clearing my chest up. Seems like they should be doing something other than wrecking havoc with my blood sugar, which was over 400 when they checked me at the docs office this past Monday.

Had to get an insulin shot. That left me a bit out of sorts cause to date, I’ve only had to use oral meds to control my diabetes. Because I have to take these steroids for another 14 days, my doctor dang near forbid me to eat carbs (well my favorite ones anyway) and double dosed one of my meds to counter attack my rise in blood sugar. Eh… no big deal, I shouldn’t be eating french fries anyway…right?

Well good news, it’s working so at least that’s no longer a concern, which leaves me free to get on with the business of only having to worry about getting well. Works for me.

So what has this got to do with my new barrettes?

Well, because of my blood sugar situation, my friend introduced me to the Unwich lettuce wrap at Jimmy John’s. You can get any sandwich and they’ll wrap it in lettuce for you. It’s the perfect, ultimate low cal/low carb fast food, and I’ve been scarfing them down all week. Problem is, there are no JJ’s on my way home. So after work, if I want one for dinner, I have to really go out of my way to get one.

So that’s what I’ve been doing all week long. This takes me by the beauty supply store and today I decided to stop and see what I could find. And lo and behold, this heart barrette and star clip combo just jumped off the rack and screamed “Take Me home!”

Now at first I was a little concerned that I might not like it and their return policy sucks, which is why I often don’t purchase stuff at Korean-owned BSLs. They want you to spend your money there but they don’t want to take anything back if you don’t like their products. I really feel as if they’re sucking our community dry so I try really hard to NOT patronize them on a regular basis. In this case, according to their policy, they won’t give you a refund, but they will do an exchange if you bring it back within 24 hours. And you know what, you best believe I was really prepared to take it back. I can always use another tube of my favorite, tried and true Proline Lite Creme Moisturizer.

Anyhoo, my concerns melted as soon as I tried it on. As you can see in the pic, it’s absolutely adorable. It’s also comfortable and extremely nap friendly. No edges to cut or catch my hair. And guess how much it cost? Just two bucks!

Hard to beat that now for sure!

Comments
8 Responses to “It’s the cutest!”
  1. Laquita says:

    Those are cute! And glad to read you are doing better :o)

  2. Tazz says:

    Those are really cute!!!!
    please keep your blood sugar under control!!!! We want to keep you around for a long long time.
    I don’t want to have to tell your mother to beat you with a wet noodle 🙂

  3. Vonmiwi says:

    I just found your witty and informative blog tonight and I’ve got to add it to my blog roll.
    You can now add Chrisette Michele as one of your notable (naturals) nappies because she just did the “Big Chop”

  4. jhendrie says:

    I hope you get better. The site is so informative

  5. chele says:

    isnt it fun to find new hair accessories!!!! weee!

  6. You make me realize how boring I am with my hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

