Uh oh… Am I a Product Junky?

I like neat-looking front edges. I guess I'm always going for that "polished" look. And not the look that says you looked like you just rolled out of the bed.

 Ok… I think I’ve been in some sort of denial. Could it be that I really am a product junky? Over the past SEVERAL years, I done purchased a whole bunch of stuff that I hardly or barely used. Seems to me I liked when I initially used it and then later it either just didn’t wow me or didn’t perform well at all. Or, I just forgot about it.  And then, when all else fails, what do I go running back to? You got it. My Proline Lite Creme Moisturizer. I should own stock in that dag company! 

So hmmm… what have I purchased through the years? Off the top of my head here’s the list:   

NOTE: All oils were purchase to either make my proline moisturizer more substantial and act as a heavy-duty emollient to soften up my hair during the winter months. Did it work? Not really.  

  1. Grape seed oil
  2. Jojoba oil
  3. Crisco
  4. Coconut oil
  5. Carefree Moisturizer (Stopped buying it cause the pump clogs up)
  6. Four or five tubes of strong hold gels (various brands — I only use to define my ends so why do I keep buying huge tubes of this stuff?)
  7. Two Carol’s Daughter products (hated them, made my hair hard and dry)
  8. A few shampoos (don’t use that often)
  9. Detangling sprays (like 10 bottles for $10 have yet to use them)
  10. Just For Me Curl Smoother (left white reside when I used it as a leave in moisturizer. Worked great as a detangler, but it has to be washed out)
  11. Various gel curl activators (including a  just discovered unopened jar)
  12. Proline Softener (like it but it smells like baby lotion)   

So with alla that, why in the world did I go spend my money on this stuff yesterday. Some Fantasia Ice Pomade.

For some reason, I really like this pic!

Alright. I confess. I know why I bought it. It’s because sometimes I can get down right obsessed my edges. I want them to lay down and not stick up. Sometimes they cooperate at other times they don’t. It’s funny cause I don’t mind rolled up looking kitchens but I don’t like kinky rolled up front edges. So I bought this stuff hoping I’d have some luck with it. As usual I liked it going on. Looked like it was working like a charm. But as the day wore on, it looked a little dry and just a little bit frizzy. Not bad, but it didn’t work as well as I had hoped. However, my hair feels soft and NOT stiff so that’s a plus.

I don't mind nappy kitchens but I honestly don't like nappy edges.

I also used some to define the ends of my braids better. Now that worked like a charm. No more fuzzy wuzzy ends. I’m not sure if this product is a keeper though. I saved my receipt — just in case I need to take it back to Walgreens. In fact, I’d say that if a product doesn’t work like I want it to at all, I’ll take it back. I won’t purchase product from stores that will not allow me to return a product. If doesn’t do what it promises, then why keep it?  

But this stuff, I’m on the fence about it. I think I’ll keep it a little while longer and see how it works on my braids and not just my edges. I did take down and apply the gel to two braids. I must say I like how they feel. I also checked my scalp for build up. So far nothing. I scratched right in my hair line and there doesn’t seem to be any flaking or residue.    

Sooo this stuff just might be a keeper. Only time will tell. But even so, I still wonder…even though my list isn’t that extensive, am I a product junky?    

Comments
3 Responses to “Uh oh… Am I a Product Junky?”
  1. Vannesa says:

    Love your blogs,always look forward two new posts,& your hair is GORGEOUS!
    *lol* I can so understand! I have been trying two stop w/ the all product buying. & so far, Ive done okay. I stick two what works best four me which is:aloe vera gel,mane n tail condish,Herbal Essences hello hydration,olive & coconut oil, suave conditioners (for co washing)honey & baking soda.(That’s not two much,right? Lol) but now my problem is buying extra of my staples! More suave,more aloe, more olive! I claire Ive lost my mind.*smile* i might need two check N2 PJ rehab.

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Vannesa!
      Thanks for stopping by. Glad you love my blog and thanks for the compliment.

      Have to ask you a favor though. I’ve edited your post to make it READABLE. So in the future, if you take the time to leave a comment, please use full sentences, proper punctuation, spacing and spelling. I’m just to0o old to have to try to decipher all those texting abbreviations and run on sentences. And, you can’t assume that people want to read what you write when you communicate that way.

      It’s appropriate when you text someone, but that type of communication doesn’t carry over well to other mediums.

      I don’t want to sound mean, but I reserve the right to NOT approve posts written in text style.

      Again, thanks for stopping by and sharing your experiences.

      Take care,
      ~Nappyme

  2. Tazz says:

    I use Murray’s Creme Beeswax on my edges, and it works great.

Leave a Reply

