Scunci and Goody Lead the Way

With New Additions to No-metal Hair Accessories Line

As much as I love hair accessories, one of my biggest gripes with barrettes is that the metal clasp can snag and even cut my hair. Although I know I shouldn’t buy or wear them, many times the beauty or the practicality of one will catch my eye and the next thing I know I’m the new owner of  such a barrette.

Well now both Scunci and Goody are finally stepping up to the plate, and have created an entire line of no-metal barrettes. I spotted them at Walgreens several weeks ago and became as excited as a kid in a candy store.

Well I just had to have them all! The one in my hair pictured left is made by Scunci. I put it on and immediately fell in love with it. The barrette fit securely and was able to handle the thickness of my hair with no problem. And for once, I didn’t have to worry about catching my hair on any sharp edges or slipping under the hinge and being cut.

So far, the other accessories that I tried were the blue plastic contour barrette shown in the picture second from the left and the barrette on the fourth card from the left. I tried the blue one as an accent on the side next to my bun, however, it wouldn’t lay flat due to my flat twists. So I’ll have to wait until my hair is in a different style to give those a try. Because it’s plastic, I’m certain the design won’t be as durable as their all-metal counterparts, but as an accent through a thin layer or hair (like on the side of your puff or something) it just might do the job.

As for the oval ones on the far end, though I haven’t tried it, I have seen them in the hair someone’s nappy updo and was surprised that it was functioning so well in her thick hair.

Take a look here at BNatural’s use of this accessory here.

Once I tried it, I also immediately fell in love with the barrette pictured left. It has a traditional clasp that was easy to fasten. Again, no snags, or sharp edges that cut or get entangled in my hair. In addition, I like it cause it has a little more style to it than the dark brown barrette I tried on earlier. Wish this came in some fashion colors cause I’d love to be able to match it to various outfits and earrings.

Also, there’s nothing particularly elegant or dressy about these accessories, but for everyday, casual use they’ll work just fine. Perhaps, they’ll come out with some all plastic special occasion, dressier type accessories some time in the future.

In addition to being incredibly nap friendly I can think of a couple more kinda obscure benefits to wearing these metal-free accessories. For one, you won’t have to worry about setting off the metal detector when you’re going the line to board a plane at the airport. Nor will you have to take it off if you ever have to get an MRI. For most, these aren’t everyday experiences but if you ever have to do either one, you’ll appreciate having one less thing you have to deal with.

So if you see something you like, go ahead and give it a try. They all sell for between $4 and $6.

Note: Save your receipt. If you don’t like something, take it back. Most stores (except Korean owned beauty supplies) have very good return policies. I’m not a fan of keeping anything (including hair goods and consumeable products) if they doesn’t perform well.

Comments
2 Responses to “Scunci and Goody Lead the Way”
  1. Hair Flair says:

    Thanks for the great product reviews. We’re always looking for opinions on Scunci products. We carry a bunch of the no-damage line, so if you ever can’t find something in stores, chances are we have it. I’ll pass along your positive feedback to our Scunci contacts.

    • nappyme says:

      Well, glad you like the review! And cool on passing the word on to Scunci. Them having the nappy-headed point of view is a good thing, I’d think!

      Now I’ll go and check out your site.

      And if you ever have any products you’d like me to review, feel free to send ’em my way.

Leave a Reply

