Break a Leg — Hopefully Mine!

 Hiponyfauxpuff5.jpg picture by NappymeHmmm… it’s always been a secret desire of mine to persue acting. 

And my hometown is a big community theater town and lately I’ve been really supporting the John Beasley Theater. So I signed up for their mailing list and now I get notifications for upcoming auditions.  

My mom gets them too. One day she came to me and said, “You really should audition for one of these plays.” I was shocked cause my mom rarely proactively encourages me to do anything. 

Now don’t get me wrong, she’ll support something once I get it going, but she never, ever ever makes suggestions or gives advice.  So this was interesting especially since I was thinking the same thing

Hiponyfauxpuff2.jpgSo a couple of weeks ago, I get an audition notice for several plays that they would be casting for including For Color Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuff (I think that’s right) and Fences

I was familiar with Colored Girls, but not Fences. 

I contacted them by email to to let them know I was interested and they told me to be at the theater on Sat. June 26 at 11 a.m. sharp. Also told me to be prepared to read a couple of “sides” that they would provide.  

Hiponyfauxpuff3.jpgAh yeah. What are “sides” I wondered. ObviouslyI had some research to do, but then I got preoccupied with my recently diagnosed and potentially serious medical condition, and totally forgot about the audition — until last night.  

My hair was a mess. It’d been in a faux puff for a couple of weeks and really needed to be redone. But could I quickly pull this off? I’ve been tauting this hair style since I first created it as a way to protect my ends and minimize tangles, now I was about to put it to the test.

Although I’d redone the top and sides a couple times, I hadn’t touched the back. Would it really be unmatted with minimal tangles than a regular loose puff? Would I be able to take it down and get it untangled, remoisturized and restyled within a reasonable amount of time ?

The answer is a resounding yes. When I would take each individual puff down I’ll tell ya it seemed extremely tangled and knotted but in each case, I was able to work through every section rather quickly with my fingers, smooth it out and put it into big plaits that I would then wear to bed. The next morning it took me less than an hour to recreate my faux puff. And each time I do it, I’m able to perfect it a litte more.

Hiponyfauxpuff4.jpgThis time, I looped each individual puff over two fingers as I tucked the end into the band so there’s much more unifority in size. The puffs are also much closer together which helps the puff stay comfortable longer. I say this because I’m finding that as the day wears on and my hair shrinks up, the band does still tend to pull a bit so I don’t sleep with it on to give my scalp a break.

Anyhoo, this is how I wore my hair to the audition.  

They asked me to read the part of Rose. I did and he coached me through it several times and has now invited me for a second audition at the end of July.Y’all I’m so excited. At first I just figured it would be fun and something fun to try in terms of just auditioning, and if I didn’t get it, oh well. At least I tried — right?

Now, I’ll have plenty of time to do some research. Renting and watching the movie should be easy enough, and I’ll study the part of Rose intently. I read somewhere that you don’t want to recreate another actor’s performance so I’ll try to keep that in mind. A friend of mine is a writer, as well as a published author and has been dabbling in screen writing. She said she recently took some acting classes to help her learn how to create better three dimensional characters, and she’s been encouraging me to do the same. She also offered to “run lines” with me. I think I’ll take her up on it if I can find a copy of the play somewhere.

As you can see, I’m really getting into this now. Dag, now I really want the part, so wish me luck!

Comments
10 Responses to “Break a Leg — Hopefully Mine!”
  1. LaNeshe says:

    Good luck! I hope you get it!

  2. Lovi says:

    Good luck

  3. Moni says:

    Good luck! I’ve seen Fences twice. The first time I was about 10 when my sister was in a school production. I don’t remember the “adult” themes at all, so I guess that stuff really does go right over children’s heads. The second time was last year. It’s definitely a powerful production!

  4. Lanette says:

    How exciting for you! Kudos for doing the audition. Wishing you the best of luck!!!!!

  5. Jan says:

    Loving the hair! Break a Leg!

  6. Jaz says:

    Good luck–with your part AND your health. I’m wishing you the best.

  7. Jaz says:

    oh and I really love the faux puff. Is there a tutorial anywhere on your site where I can learn to do it?

  8. samantha says:

    Good Luck!!!

  9. Nedra says:

    God bless you both health-wise and goal-wise. It’s so encouraging to hear about folks going for their goals! 🙂

  10. Congrats on your decision to pursue acting!

    Best wishes on the call back!

    HGHG

Leave a Reply

