Mom’s 80th Birthday Celebration

Top row (left to right): sis, sis-in-law, brother. Middle row: nephew, brother, beautiful mom, nephew. Seated: niece and me

 

I’ve just made it through a very busy weekend. My mom turned 80 this past Tuesday and to celebrate, we had family in town (my brother, his wife and two young adult sons) and took a family pic. Events culminated with a party for my mom Tuesday evening.   

It was sooo nice to see my nephews all grown up and handsome. The youngest one is in his final semester of college in Maryland and the older one graduated from college a couple of years ago. Fortunately he’s not a victim of this economy as he’s gainfully employed in his field and out on his own.   

It was also nice to see my niece interact with her only first cousins on our side of the family. Despite the age difference, they seemed to really hit it off and that was great to see.   

Anyhoo, as with any family event, you know what that means right? Pictures, pictures and more pictures so my hair had to be on point.   

I had just a bit of dilemma because as creative as I usually am with my hair, I initially was at a loss about what to do with it. I needed a style that would hold up from Thursday though and still look fresh for Sunday’s family pic.   

So I ended up with this do. It was one the one with flat twists at the hair line and the rest done in two strand twists. I like this because it serves as a base for a lot of different ways for me to style my hair. So initially, I pulled my hair back in a bun but for the picture I swooped it up and to the side. My only regret is that my twists were stretched and in some of the pictures they look kinda stringy. I should have spritz them so they could shrink and plump back up.   

Other than that, I do like the way my hair turned out in the various family portraits. It’s the first professional ones that I’ve had done since I’ve been wearing my hair natural. It’s something I’ve been wanting for a while now and the opportunity finally presented itself, and I’m glad it did.   

img_0119-1.jpg   

img_0122-2-1.jpg picture by Nappyme   

img_0038-1.jpg picture by Nappyme   

img_0059-1-1.jpg picture by Nappyme

Comments
19 Responses to “Mom’s 80th Birthday Celebration”
  1. Annette says:

    Lovely family, the photographs are awesome 🙂

  2. tazz says:

    Wow!

    You have a beautiful family, you and your niece look more like sisters, and your hair looks really cute!!

  3. Shea says:

    I have been following this website for awhile but I have never commented. Your family is beautiful and your mother is absolutely stunning. 80 years old looks good on her.!!!

  4. gigi says:

    What a blessing. Beautiful family.

  5. Anna Renee says:

    God bless you and your family! Your Mom IS beautiful!

  6. mophead says:

    Happy Birthday to your Mom. You all look Great. Your Mom Looks awesome………

  7. Ms-gg says:

    I love it nappyme!!! Your hair is perfect as always. And Beautiful family!!!!! Tell mommy I said happy birthday! She looks absolutely gorgeous 🙂

  8. Michelle Smith says:

    Your mom is absolutely beautiful!!!! Such a pretty woman with a very nice looking family. I was so close to relaxing my hair one day until I read one of your post on how to put it in a bun and it worked! It has really been a struggle for me but each time I attempt to give up you post another idea. Thank you and God Bless

    • nappyme says:

      Michelle thank you so much. I’m so glad that I was able to help you get past the urge to relax your hair and that you found a solution that was workable for you. It’s comments like this that keeps me posting and updating my blog going well into my fourth year now.

      God Bless you as well. Take care and stay nappy!

  9. nappyme says:

    Thank you all for the wonderful well wishes to my mom and the beautiful comments about my family. It is very much appreciated. She had a very memorable birthday and is continuing to get cards and well wishes from old friend around the country. We told her she’s got to take good care of herself so we can do this again in another 10 years for her 90th birthday. LOL!

  10. sundayzchild says:

    You have a beautiful family. You say your mum is 80? She is a stunner.

  11. shaunita says:

    so beautiful

  12. maria says:

    Your mom is stunning! Love your hairstyle in the picture.

Leave a Reply

