Update Product Review: Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue

Most definitely two thumbs DOWN! And now it’s on to trying Urban Therapy’s Twisted Sista Curl Activator.

But first things first…

Friday, after I went to the salon to get my hair washed, that evening I reapplied the product to my hair. Same set of thirteen twists. Tied my hair up, went to bed and the next day when I got up and checked out my hair, my twists were rock hard and dry as firewood kindling. And the worse thing was the residue it left in my hair. It was white and caked up around my edges. When I took my twists down, I had large flakes all dried up all through my hair from root to tips. I was sooooo out done.

So I had to make yet another appointment to get my hair shampooed at Beauty Brands. I went this morning at 10 a.m. Different stylist. I told her what my problem was and explained what I needed done and she washed my twists, paying special attention to the roots with the shampoo. She smoothed my hair in one direction from root to tip around each and every twist and squeezed the shampoo through my twists just like I’d asked. She was wonderful to say the least.

She took her time and rinsed thoroughly. Blotted my hair with a towel and then as I asked, she blotted each one individually. I took a couple down to check for tangle. None. Ha! Mission accomplished yet again.

This time, I was in and out in less than half an hour.

But is it back to my trusty Proline moisturizer? Not yet. Problem is, as much as I like the Proline product, it falls short as a moisturizer during the winter months. I use it because I’ve never found anything better, and every time I try something different I end up with a horror story on my hands. I returned the remainder of the Curly Meringue to Target and then started eyeballing some different products. This time I came home with some Twisted Sista curl activator.

I applied it to one twist while I was sitting in the parking lot at Target  around 11 a.m., and then went shopping for Thanksgiving dinner with my mom. I figured by the time I got home, it would be dry, and I would be able to tell how moisturizing it was and whether or not it would leave a residue in my hair. My thinking is that I’d sample it rather than doing a full-head application. That way, if it decided to do some yucky stuff to my hair, I could wash just that one section and not have to subject my entire head to yet another cleansing with shampoo for the third time in just a couple of days.

The initial application seemed to go well, but that means nothing. Lot’s of products go on well but then when they dry your hair feels terrible. The product is very light. Makes me wonder if I’ll need to do several applications to get my moisture balance back in check. But it seems to immediately soften my dry parched hair. That’s a plus as well. I love the smell. It has a light lime fragrance to it. That’s a thumbs up too. So far so good but only time will tell.

Well fast forward to early evening. I get home and check my hair in the mirror. My hair is dry but not stiff and hard. It’s not buttery soft, but hardly anything makes it feel like that except the Proline Softener — a product I’d use in a heart beat if the dang stuff didn’t smell like baby lotion. I look for signs of flaking. None. Ok then it’s a go I decide to apply it to my entire head.  But first things first. I find the receipt, tape it to the 3.38 oz tube just in case I need to take it back and then I get to work.

Right at this moment, I’m about three-quarters done. I’m trying my best to pace my application because this is a small tube. It’s just under $5, which is rather expensive if you ask me, so I’ve gotta make sure this itty bitty tube does my entire head.

Once again, I don’t think I’ll really be able to tell how the product will perform on all of my hair until tomorrow morning and even a couple of days down the road. My hair sucks up product like a sponge so how often I have to reapply will tell me whether or not it’s worth the money. I’ll do my final review of Twisted Sista’s curl activator most likely Tuesday or Wednesday of this week or even Monday if it turns out horribly for some reason after it has had a chance to sit in my hair over night.

So stay tuned.

Comments
6 Responses to “Update Product Review: Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue”
  1. Carla says:

    Hi — I’ve enjoyed reading your blog for almost a year. Your posts are always informative and down to earth. But, when I read your last post that you tried (and liked) Miss Jessie’s, I was like — oh no!! LOL I knew the outcome before you posted this follow up — everything looks great those first couple of days, and then your hair says, noooooo!!!! get this off of me, NOW! Whew, I can go back to lurking now that things have righted themselves here 🙂 BTW, have you tried Elasta QP mango butter?

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Carla!
      Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad you find it informative and “real.” Lol that you already knew that I wouldn’t like the product.

      And nope, haven’t tried the Elasta QP mango butter. I’ve never been a fan of buttery, greasy, oily products so I doubt that I’ll ever try it.

      But thanks for the suggestion. If you think I might like something else, let me know!

  2. Jeffrey says:

    Hi, just curious. What opinion (if any) do youhave of Carol’s Daughter products? Love your blog and hope you return soon!

    • nappyme says:

      The few that I was interested in using I was not a fan of. ***shrugs***

      • Jeffrey says:

        Thanks for your reply. I’m thankful for sites like yours as I am still learning what this hair stuff is all about. If I may ask just once more. I stopped my haircuts in October 2008 and my hair grew to roughly 7.5 inches. I’m not sure but I get the feeling I should be longer at this time. Do you think I should cut my hair off completely and start over? I’ve changed my eating habits (more vegetables and fruits) and am trying to drink more water (2 liters a day as opposed to none at all). Would this help me continue from here or do you think I should cut and start anew?

        Thanks a Mil

        Jeff

      • nappyme says:

        Hi jeff,
        Nope I don’t think you should start over. Learning to take care of African textured hair can involve a learning curve, evolving as our hair gains length. No doubt you’ve suffered set backs. However, just take what you’ve learned and move on. Hair, on average grows six inches a year, approximately 1/2 inch per month. Remember math and averages though. That means that some people’s hair grows slower than that and some grows faster than that. So you have to consider the growth rate, plus the number of years hair is actively growing from your scalp before it naturally sheds to know how long your hair COULD be in a certain number of years. If you you have highly textured African hair (read nappy) then you also have to know that you’ll also realize some breakage. No way around that. You can minimize it but you can’t prevent it. But take all of this into account and it all impacts your ability to retain length.

        Being healthy also has an impact on your hair. But I don’t really worry about that all that much. You hair will grow unless you’re dead. Most people won’t really have a noticeable issue with their hair unless they’ve got a damaged scalp (traction alopecia), some type of hereditary condition (male/female pattern baldness) or experiencing something like cancer and undergoing chemo.

        Hope some of this helps and good luck!
        ~nappyme

Leave a Reply

