Review Update: Urban Therapy’s Twisted Sista Curl Activator

My verdict: I’m neutral.

My hair, when clean, totally dry and product free looks like and feels like dry fire wood. As a result, after I wash, I usually have to apply moisturizer to my hair very generously. A good moisturizer, after it dries to the touch (but is still slightly moist throughout) should leave my hair looking and feeling good for days on end without need for daily reapplications between washings, and that’s what I’m always looking for when I try out a moisturizer.

My Proline product is like this. It can take several days for my hair to become thoroughly dried out when I use their lite creme moisturizer. So it would be interesting to see how Twisted Sista would stack up against my beloved Proline.

Well, in the morning, my hair was completely dry. The plus is that it didn’t look dry. It actually had a very nice sheen. It was also kinda stiff, not horribly rigid, but not as pliable as it usually is when I use my Proline moisturizer. So I’d consider this to be more of a holding product than one that could be used as a moisturizer on my hair.

In appearance, Twisted Sista is white, as opposed to clear and goes on making your hair look dull. But as I smoothed it through my hair, twist by twist the night before, the white-ish looking product color faded away. Nevertheless, I was rather worried about residue.

The next day, though I checked my hair thoroughly for flakes or granuals. I was relieved to see absolutely none, unlike the yucky-looking ish that Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue or the Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk left in my hair. If I were going to try a twistout, I think it would give me great hold and definition without being crunchy or hard.

IMG_0979-1.jpg picture by NappymeWith regard to hold, I’m wearing my hair in large twists (similiar to the do pictured right)  that are pulled back into a French Roll and secured with a large plastic hair pin. One twist hangs down in the front to give the style a point of interest and to soften up the hairline and I have absolutely no frizz. Even my front edges are cooperating. I think I’ll get good mileage out of this style as a result. Maybe I won’t have to refresh until the weekend.  That would be great.

The only drawback is that the tube is sooooo little. Only 3.38 fluid ounces for $4.99 plus tax. On almost 18 inches of freshly washed type 4B, cNapp hair, my thirsty strands sucked up nearly the ENTIRE tube. And I was doing my best to use enough to get good coverage but not use so much that I was being heavy-handed. That means, every time I wash or rinse my hair, I’d have to buy a new tube of this stuff. I’d also have to have another tube just to refresh my do as needed between washings. Quite frankly, that’s more than I really want to spend. However, I think it would still be cheaper than that hideous Curly Meringue (doing quick math in my head) ok, not by much though.

If I were more into twistouts and braidouts, this product might be worth keeping on hand. But I’m not so I can’t actually see myself buying this again anytime soon. Like I said, I could use a better product for the winter months, but until can actually find something that’s worth the switch, I’ll stay with my Proline Lite Creme Moisturizer.

Comments
6 Responses to “Review Update: Urban Therapy’s Twisted Sista Curl Activator”
  1. Tashina says:

    “One of the reason I like the Proline product is that when my hair gets totally dry, it usually looks parched. The Proline Moisturizer, however, leaves my hair just ever so moist for days on end.”

    I’m kind of confused by these two lines…mainly the first one.

    • nappyme says:

      Hmmm I could see how that might be confusing. I’ve reworked the review a little bit so hopefully it makes more sense.

      Thanks.

  2. Londonnapster says:

    I’m sooooo happy I found this site! There is nothing like this available in the UK.

  3. jaedabarbie says:

    Thanks for the review. I bought this product and was dissapointed because I didnt know how to use it. Now I have more understanding of how it works.

  4. Rebecca R. says:

    Would like to know if you can use this product on a short natural, I bought it today to try after I wash it, I do not intend to use twist in my hair.

    Thanks,
    Short Nat.

    • nappyme says:

      Hi Short Nat.

      I’m not a short-haired natural so I wouldn’t be able to answer your question. Perhaps someone will come along with an answer.

      Good luck and take care,
      Nappyme

Leave a comment